Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I've had a quick search and havn't found this in any posts thus far. So the question is; if I charged with a unit of skeles, armed with spears and then used the staff of damnation, would the second rank get a set of attacks through?
I personally quite like the idea of staff of damnation making two blocks of skeles quite elite in a way, but found this problem when playing last week.
I would say not, because the second rank can't attack if they've charged in the first place and can only attack in 2 ranks in the next turn and its no where near next turn.
Also I think it would be unfair to go on a technicallity and say they can attack when they normally cannot.
I think it boils down to if the staff empowers spear armed undead to attack at all. I'd give it a thumbs up due to the damage inflicted not counting towards combat resolution.
I eagerly await more info on this, this tactic sounds very sexy Heiromyo.
Your fluffraping hurts my eyes. - TehDarkPredator
When using the Staff of Damnation it takes into account all your current bonus like charging with a lance for +2S so I would assume it would take into account your negatives like spears don't get to attack from the second rank.
From the FAQ
Q. If the Staff of Damnation is successfully
cast upon a unit or character with Hatred,
can the unit (or character) re-roll the attack if
it is missed? If yes, does this count as the "first
turn of combat" for the purposes of Hatred?
A. If the unit charged into combat in the
preceding Movement phase, or earlier in the
same Magic phase, they can use the benefits
from Hatred and other bonuses that rely on
charging (such as lances and great weapons),
Last edited by apbevan; December 1st, 2008 at 19:22.