Welcome to Librarium Online!
is it possible to cast Ion with your character that is attached to a unit and in combat? or do i have to detach my vampire from the unit to cast?
sorry i either am not clear on your answer or i did not ask my question right. i know i can cast Ion into combat but what if my character is engaged into combat? is my engaged vampire able to still cast Ion during the magic phase or because he is in combat he is unable to. I only ask this because while looking through the rule book a friend had told me that im only able to cast while out of combat due to the fact that the spell has to specificaly say i am able to cast while engaged in combat. I am unsure about what spell he refered me to but apparently there is a spell that is worded this way in one of the lores in the main rule book.
IIRC, if your vampire is in base to base with an enemy model, he is too busy to cast spells that dosent affect himself. If he is not in base to base he is freely allowed to cast spells as normal. Even if the unit he is attached to, it in close combat.
Im not sure on this, since I dont play VC's myself.
IoN isn't a magic missile, so no worries there... and while the IoN description is *VERY* vague about casting into combat, the FAQ clears it up nicely and says that you can.
As a result, you can cast IoN onto units in combat, even if you're in combat yourself.
awesomesauce thanks for the clarification