kastellan question - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Age
    36
    Posts
    151
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    2 (x1)

    kastellan question

    is it worth giving kastellan a magic weapon for 25 pts? or save the points due to the lack of good wepaons for him at that many points?

    or is it FaQed anywhere to be able to give him any magic item for 25 pts


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Age
    35
    Posts
    31
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Not only would I never give a Kastellan a magic weapon/item, I'd never take a Kastellan at all, since you may not always want to issue a challenge.

  4. #3
    Member Ollie_Bollie's_Orcs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Age
    25
    Posts
    148
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    13 (x1)

    1. blood knights have to accept challenges anyways and any model can, regardless of if its a Kastellan or not.

    2. in the vampire book it says magic weapon, however in the sample army list in the book they give the Kastellan a magic item that is not a weapon. R theses people just retarded (i guess so cause they make pretty shitty army lists that are not either thematic or winning lists), or can u give them any magic item.....?

  5. #4
    LO Zealot
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Age
    38
    Posts
    1,568
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    280 (x6)

    Quote Originally Posted by Ollie_Bollie's_Orcs View Post
    1. blood knights have to accept challenges anyways and any model can, regardless of if its a Kastellan or not.
    No they don't. The Martial Honor rule states that normal blood knights *may* accept challenges like a normal unit champion, not that they are obligated to accept them. A Kastellan has additional rules in this regard, which can be found in the army book.



    But to answer the original question, I agree with dwarfthane in that I never take one with my Blood Knights. If you do, it can be useful to give him a balefire spike to get the unit some magical attacks (if no character is with them toting a magic weapon).

  6. #5
    Junior Member SRNae's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Age
    35
    Posts
    23
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    7 (x1)

    I as well rarely if ever take a Kastellan in a unit of Blood Knights.

    I really like the model, however so I use it as a Dread Knight Vampire. I don't really like the GW mounted Vampire since it's a skeletal steed.

  7. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    36
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    If I'm taking a Kastellan and if I decide to give him a magic weapon, I'd give him either the Sword of Might or the Balefire Spike.

    The best time to take a Kastellan is if you're taking a Vampire to lead your Blood Knights and giving the Blood Drinker. You don't want to risk that character in challenges and he can bring back a slain Kastellan with a single swing of his sword.

  8. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Age
    35
    Posts
    31
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    If you have a vampire in a unit of Blood Knights, you don't need a Kastellan anyway - any of the regular BKs can accept the challenge (and, as you noted, easily get resurrected). Sure, the magic weapon possibility is neat, but there are times that you may just not want to challenge.

  9. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    36
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    I didn't realize that any of the other Blood Knights could accept the challenge.. this means that the only reason for taking a Kastellan is if you want another magical weapon in the unit. Still occasionally useful, if they survive your charge, but not nearly as important as having a resurrectable model designated for dying in challenges.

  10. #9
    Lord Admiral kithre's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Iver Heath
    Age
    39
    Posts
    2,608
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    220 (x8)

    The Kastellan being ressurectable is really great as it means you can invest in him,, and rememebr thathe comes with an additional attack, so would be the best choice to accept any challenges anyway.

  11. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Age
    35
    Posts
    31
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Sure, if your opponent really wants to challenge and beats you to the punch - since otherwise the Kastellan is obligated to offer a challenge.

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts