Welcome to Librarium Online!
If I mount my Vampire Lord on an Abyssal Terror, is there a point to taking the Dread Knight ability?
I was thinking about taking Dread Knight for the armor (heavy armor, shield), and I was also adding the barded Nightmare bonus to the armor save. Then I remembered that if I am on an Abyssal Terror, then I wouldn't get a barded Nightmare bonus for armor. Then I began to wonder if I'd even be able to get the Abyssal Terror, since the Dread Knight ability mounts him on a barded Nightmare.
Next is a general rules question - if I am using a lance, can I still use a shield, or does the lance take both hands? My same character, I use the Dreadlance with, and I was wondering if it's even worth it to take the Avatar of Death ability. I don't know if it's worth 20 points for a 5+ armor save (already giving my Vampire Lord a 4+ ward save), but if I can get the armor bonus from the shield while still using the Dreadlance, it might be worth it.
Warhammer Fantasy: Vampire Counts | Wood Elves | Chaos
It stats in an FAQ that if a vampire has dreadknight he may not take another mount other than the Nightmare
Lances do not take both hands so you do get your shield
In my opinion id say give him Flayed Hauberk with Sword of Might or blood drink and perhaps wristbands of blackgold or crown of stupidity
or you could give him Avatar of death to get armour and shield, then pay for the flaming lance, it's really cheap, I think it come out to the same as the mounted power, but you get a magical weapon with flaming
It works out as a 3+ save because the Mount is not barded if you pick a Nightmare or Hellsteed.