Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I've been looking through a lot of lists and many people are taking magic items with their BSB. I understand being able to take vampiric powers, but generally BSBs aren't allowed to have magic items as well. Is this something special with the VC?
BSB's are only not allowed to take magic items if the banner itself is magical. If it's a standard BSB, they are free to take whatever magic items (+ powers) they want. If it is a special banner, only generic items/mount + powers may be selected.
More or less.
I think if you use a Wight Lord to be your BSB he can still have his wight blade whcih is magical to go along with a magical banner but that is it I think.
on a similar note... is it worth putting a bsb with the Drakenhoff banner in a unit of skeletons? I just thought it might make a good tar pit, that could later b flanked by black knights for the win.... It could also hold off an elite unit particularly well imo.
I like the regen banner in a unit of GG. I find it's a tough anvil. Skeletons may not be tough enough. With the GG you still have a change at an armor save as well as a regen.
Typically I wouldn't spend that many points on such a squishy unit. GG really are the typical unit to get the Regen banner, because they suddenly become quite nasty. I've been playing around with:
14GG w/ fc, Banner of the Dead Legion, great weapons
Vamp w/ Drakenhof + Walking Death
(helm & cart nearby)
I have considered running this as a completely frustrating center/tar-pit
18 Skeletons w/ fc, warbanner, spears
Wight w/ Drakenhof
Vamp w/ Tomb Blade, Flayed Hauberk, Lord of the Dead, Walking Death
(helm and cart nearby)
this gives you a 20man regiment with Regen, 3 ranks, +4static CR off banners, a likely outnumber, and all the kills coming from the surviving spears and the Wight and Vamp. Furthermore, the Vampire's "Tomb Blade" works like IoN, and he can use IoN to raise beyond starting: each kill gives him an additional skeleton in the unit, so the unit probably grows, or at least becomes self-sustaining, regaining as many models as it's losing each turn.
That is of course assuming that they haven't made a FAQ that overrides the TB+LoTD combo. And of course, it's a whopping 632pt regiment.
I think the unit will be too expensive... The Drakenhoff Benner Itself is not often worth its price, since it is Regeneration and not Ward Save
I would say, keep cheap Units cheap. Do not give Skellies the Banner via a BSB, but maybe GG if they really need it... IN GENERAL - TOO MUCH POINTS!
Ask Nagash! Click on the banner...
WiP TK Army!