Spectral Form BSB - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    Member Regnal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    197
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    3 (x1)

    Spectral Form BSB

    Can they be used in conjunction? I can't find any rules that disallow it and my army builder isn't giving me the big red no. BSBs can't use magic items if the banner is magic, however, spectral form is not an item. It's a vampiric power.


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    I have a cunning plan no1cafc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Dorset, UK
    Age
    27
    Posts
    605
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    157 (x3)

    Quote Originally Posted by Regnal View Post
    Can they be used in conjunction? I can't find any rules that disallow it and my army builder isn't giving me the big red no. BSBs can't use magic items if the banner is magic, however, spectral form is not an item. It's a vampiric power.
    A Magic Banner is still a Magic Item though so if you take a Spectral Form on a BSB that's all you will get, a Vampire BSB with Spectral Form. Since Magic Banners fall under the category of Magic Items you can not legally take both, which is a shame as I think Wraiths with regen would be particularly nasty.
    BEN DIESEL FTW!!!

  4. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    30
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    You can because the Spectral Form is a Vampiric power, and not a Magic Item, so yeah, a 18" march unimpeded by terrain.

  5. #4
    Member Regnal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    197
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    3 (x1)

    Ooh that would transfer to the mount as well?

  6. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    247
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    39 (x1)

    You can have an ethereal BSB, providing he is not toting around a magic banner. The problem I see with this is you can have him on his own, in which case he'll be a target for magic missiles. If you put him in a unit of wraiths or spirit host he will certainly add to their hitting power and combat res, but generally those units fight in front of the main host, redirect charges, etc. If you're putting him in front of your army you may miss out on a good bit of the BSB's usefulness.

  7. #6
    Member Jack Shrapnel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Age
    45
    Posts
    177
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    18 (x1)

    I've utilized the spectral BSB in the wraiths... and I must say it's pretty effective...

    I'm not a big fan of magical banners on my bsb (I just don't run the drakenhoff banner with the notable exception of my Ard Boyz entry this year)... and I always have a BSB in my army... the benefits are well worth the small point investment....

    now what he adds to wraiths -

    same attack strength as a regular wraith (so not losing anything by paying the extra points for the vamp)
    gives the wraiths the ability to march
    gives a +1 to combat res
    gives raising ability right close to the unit as needed
    one less to crumbling if you do end up losing

    very powerful combination, especially to a wraith flanking force.... a unit of wraiths on the flank is fast, moves through terrain, and if ignored will cause major destruction on it's own... I never use wraiths as a screen or for redirecting though... but that's just me... (I leave that to cheap wolves as I really don't care about them dying... I'm just more of a cat person than a dog person I guess)

  8. #7
    Junior Member stratovarion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Age
    28
    Posts
    328
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    57 (x1)

    Quote Originally Posted by no1cafc View Post
    I think Wraiths with regen would be particularly nasty.
    I'm not so sure about that as SO many magical attacks are flaming as well
    Current painting project: 2300 pts of Dwarfs in 5 weeks.

  9. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    30
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Where does it say that the BSB can't take a magic banner AND a vampiric power, Because the powers don't count as a "Magic Item" do they?

  10. #9
    Junior Member stratovarion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Age
    28
    Posts
    328
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    57 (x1)

    Part of the "Spectral Form" power states that you cannot take magical items. One of the downsides
    Current painting project: 2300 pts of Dwarfs in 5 weeks.

  11. #10
    I have a cunning plan no1cafc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Dorset, UK
    Age
    27
    Posts
    605
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    157 (x3)

    Quote Originally Posted by The Red Duke View Post
    Where does it say that the BSB can't take a magic banner AND a vampiric power, Because the powers don't count as a "Magic Item" do they?
    Magic Banners fall under the category of Magic Items, they are a type of magic item just like a talisman, enchanted item, magic weapon...
    BEN DIESEL FTW!!!

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts