Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Can they be used in conjunction? I can't find any rules that disallow it and my army builder isn't giving me the big red no. BSBs can't use magic items if the banner is magic, however, spectral form is not an item. It's a vampiric power.
BEN DIESEL FTW!!!
You can because the Spectral Form is a Vampiric power, and not a Magic Item, so yeah, a 18" march unimpeded by terrain.
Ooh that would transfer to the mount as well?
You can have an ethereal BSB, providing he is not toting around a magic banner. The problem I see with this is you can have him on his own, in which case he'll be a target for magic missiles. If you put him in a unit of wraiths or spirit host he will certainly add to their hitting power and combat res, but generally those units fight in front of the main host, redirect charges, etc. If you're putting him in front of your army you may miss out on a good bit of the BSB's usefulness.
I've utilized the spectral BSB in the wraiths... and I must say it's pretty effective...
I'm not a big fan of magical banners on my bsb (I just don't run the drakenhoff banner with the notable exception of my Ard Boyz entry this year)... and I always have a BSB in my army... the benefits are well worth the small point investment....
now what he adds to wraiths -
same attack strength as a regular wraith (so not losing anything by paying the extra points for the vamp)
gives the wraiths the ability to march
gives a +1 to combat res
gives raising ability right close to the unit as needed
one less to crumbling if you do end up losing
very powerful combination, especially to a wraith flanking force.... a unit of wraiths on the flank is fast, moves through terrain, and if ignored will cause major destruction on it's own... I never use wraiths as a screen or for redirecting though... but that's just me... (I leave that to cheap wolves as I really don't care about them dying... I'm just more of a cat person than a dog person I guess)
Where does it say that the BSB can't take a magic banner AND a vampiric power, Because the powers don't count as a "Magic Item" do they?
Part of the "Spectral Form" power states that you cannot take magical items. One of the downsides
Current painting project: 2300 pts of Dwarfs in 5 weeks.