nightshroud usage part 2 - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    64
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    11 (x1)

    nightshroud usage part 2

    According to book, enemy models attacking nightshroud loses all charging bonus and have init reduce to 1.
    Does that mean that if my vamp is charged then my opponent do not get to hit 1st since hitting 1st is one of the benefit of charging.
    If that is the case then I will always strike 1st when my enemy charge me because they will have an init of 1.
    Not trying to out cheese or rule lawyering but am trying to clarify.

    Thanks


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Senior Member Necrontyr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Sweden
    Age
    30
    Posts
    689
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    My Spotify

    ReputationReputation
    29 (x2)

    Well, yeah. If anyone charges a character with the night shroud they lose all bonuses for charging (such as attacking first, extra str from lances, spears, flails etc.) and reduce their initiative to 1. so unless your character has initiative 1, you should go first in all cases.
    "I have seen you humans, trying to forge an Empire in the name of a corpse"

  4. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Age
    29
    Posts
    28
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    also to clarify: if that character is in a unit... does the whole unit benefit from this?

    cheers

  5. #4
    Pro at everything Mirage.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    437
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    44 (x1)

    The wording for it is something like this

    Enemies wishing to attack the bearer, lose all charging benefits (lances, striking first), Lose Always Strike (if they have it) and gain Always Strike Last (not Intiative 1)

    And no the benefit does not apply to the whole unit

  6. #5
    MHZ
    MHZ is offline
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    82
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    8 (x1)

    Quote Originally Posted by Mirage. View Post
    The wording for it is something like this

    Enemies wishing to attack the bearer, lose all charging benefits (lances, striking first), Lose Always Strike (if they have it) and gain Always Strike Last (not Intiative 1)

    And no the benefit does not apply to the whole unit
    It is only things that attack the wearer that lose the bonus but it does reduce the targets initiative to one and they lose ASF in addition to the other things.
    Tyranids W/L/D - 13/4/3
    Vampire Counts - 1/2/0
    Space Marines - 2/0/1

  7. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    64
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    11 (x1)

    So in the situation where my great weapon wielding nightshroud vampire is charged by enemy, do my vampire get to hit by init order. I am leaning toward no as an answer but would like others interpretation.

    Thanks

    Tim

  8. #7
    Senior Member Dragorakiba's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    306
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    9 (x1)

    You would roll off because your vampire would go at the same time as the enemy attacking him. Your great weapon gives you initiative 1 and nightshroud make any models attacking the vampire lose ASF and makes them initiative 1.

  9. #8
    I have a cunning plan no1cafc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Dorset, UK
    Age
    27
    Posts
    605
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    157 (x3)

    The Great weapon makes you strike last so the enemies I1 will strike before you. Strikes last is that simple you strike last, simple unless you have always strikes first which over rides strike last
    BEN DIESEL FTW!!!

  10. #9
    Senior Member Dragorakiba's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    306
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    9 (x1)

    You are right I thought great weapons made you initiative 1 but I just checked the rulebook and it does say strike last so nightshroud would not be good if you have a great weapon.

  11. #10
    Forward Kommander Blood_Blade's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Canada, Eh!
    Age
    27
    Posts
    1,005
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    82 (x3)

    Quote Originally Posted by Dragorakiba View Post
    You are right I thought great weapons made you initiative 1 but I just checked the rulebook and it does say strike last so nightshroud would not be good if you have a great weapon.
    Unless the opponent is trying to assassinate your vampire. If they're, 3 enemies are likely allocating attacks at him, and the unit you're in will have a chance to kill them before your vampire takes hits. Then, after your unit gets some shots on them, they'll get their chance at your vampire... hopefully the vamp survives to strike back
    Quote Originally Posted by MiketehFox View Post
    Ze KHADORANS vill Krush other puny factions into ze Dust! Then vill spread on Sandvich and eat! MMMMMmmmm...

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts