Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Hey guys I have seen a lot of talk about this combination (acolyte + avatar w/great weapon, BoA, enchanted shield.) and people saying that you can get a 2+ save from this...how is that possible? Thanks
hey i only just saw the post, i miss things
its quite easy really
Heavy armor 5+
Enchanted shields +2 so 3+
hand weapon and shield bonus(you choose not to use great weapon) 2+
Fantasy : Empire, Chaos Warriors, Chaos Daemons, Vampire Counts, Beastmen, High Elves, Lizardmen( but i have opinions on every army just not the money)
40k: Black Templars, Imperial Guard, Dark Eldar, Tau (thinking of Eldar)
sorry but nopeyou don't get the hand weapon shield bonus if you are using a magic item. Either a magic sword or a magic shield.
Actually, going by the magic items rules ( WRB pg 121) and the Close combat weapons rules (WRB pg 56) having a magic item does not interfere with having the hand weapon + shield combo. The catch is, the enchanted shield counts as magical armor and not a shield (WRB pg 122). Also, just for the measure, most magical weapons do not count as hand weapons and so you can't benefit from hand weapon + shield combos there either.
Edit: actually, the rules text for the Enchanted Shield tell you to treat it as a shield. And according to the first errata, you can combine a hand weapon and a magical shield to get the hand weapon + shield bonus.
Last edited by Zarachius; April 27th, 2010 at 07:16.
very well i stand corrected. thank you