Welcome to Librarium Online!
ok, now i am sure this has been discussed, but i read the direwolf errata, and when decribing why you cannot combine the tomb blade and lord of the dead, it says 'no, see above' and the description above has more to do with the corpse cart and vampires then anything.
could someone explain to me why you can't combine the two? if the tomb blade 'works like casting invocation of nehek' and the vamp has LotD it would be him 'casting invocation of nehek' while he swings the sword. there must be something i am missing.
on the same point, the blood drinker say that 'each unsaved wound' is like 'casting invocation of nehek', in which case i bring back as many blood knights as wounds that i've caused, though each casting of the spell itself is only good for one wound. am i wrong in doing that?
From everything I understand, you are correct about the blood drinker. You get to bring back as many models as you do wounds (not going over the starting number). That's why it's invaluable with expenisve troops like blood knights, possibly black knights.
As far as the Tomb Blade, I can understand the argument either way, but in the end if the errata says no on the lord of the dead-tomb blade combo, then that sticks. What we can assume then is that the Tomb Blade was intended for use in a big block of skeletons (as opposed to small blocks to be summoned in-game), and therefore combining it with lord of the dead goes against the original intent of the weapon. Given the new rules of 25%+ core choice, I think more people will be inclined to go for it bigger blocks anyway.
So yeah, if you're going to use the Tomb Blade, get a big unit of skeletons, then focus invocation of nehek on other units.
I am heading off to the Peace Corps. It is bery likely I will not be back. Good luck to all of you endeavors.
I disagree with the FAQ guys on the tomb blade. It only works in a unit of skeletons. The wording is an Extra Model is added to the unit and that the model has the same weapons and equipment as the skellies in the unit. Note the word Model not wound restored as in blood drinker. I have always gone by that it can increase skeletons above their starting number in fact the description of the weapon even says it should do that. "This evil Weapon entraps the souls of those it cleaves binding their fleshless remains in servitude to the blades' unliving Wielder."
Well i am afraid i go by the wording in the sword and the word is model therefore i will add extra skeletons with that blade. If someone wants to argue with me on that during a game i roll a d6 to decide. I also disagree with your point "unless abilities say otherwise" The text of the sword says add an extra model to the unit with same weapons and gear therefore it can increase above the units starting size notice the wording, model and not wound.
It does infact say one model. That is how I take it to mean also. I kill one of your guys, and he becomes mine. It doesn't say restore a wound to the unit. I don't get where your disconnect from that statement is. The only thing that would keep me from going over the starting limit is that GW errated it out. Thats pretty much end of story. However if they hadn't said specifically "no" I would go with adding as many models as I killed whether you liked it or not becuase of the words in the rules for the weapon itself.
Also the Errata isn't an FAQ it's a recommendation you don't have to go by what they say in it if you think what they have said is wrong. If it came down to it Wolf Pack i guess we just wouldn't wind up playing each other because The Errata guys as far as i am concerned messed it up with that one.
still, you foget the part of the tomb blade's rules that very clearly state, "...an extra model is added to the unit following the rules given in the invocation of nehek spell..."
you're not acutally casting invocation - you're simply adding models as per the rules defined by the spell. (ie: if you champ died in a challenge, then he comes back first, before any rank & file)
lord of the dead only works when your vampire himself casts invocation on a skeleton unit, thus the tomb blade doesn't allow you to go beyond the starting unit size, since we aren't allowed to do so anyways! (unless you have a summoning power and cast invocation...)
i'd definately call shinanigans on you - especially in a tournament setting! there is no grey area here, it's very black & white.