vamp lord question - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Age
    32
    Posts
    127
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    7 (x1)

    vamp lord question

    can a vamp lord take the vampire powers spectrel form and avatar of death togther?

    also can a vamp lord with spectrel form (ethereal) join a unit of wraiths with a banshee?

    how are hits allocated via magic or magic shooting attacks against this unit?


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Organised Chaos saltrock36's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    England
    Age
    30
    Posts
    1,233
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    107 (x4)

    It explains in the "Spectral Form" rules what you can and cannot do. See page 82

    But to answer your questions yes you may combine Spectral Form with Avatar of Death, and yes, with the Spectral Form the Vampire can also join Ethereal units, but you cannot take any magic items, or be mounted.

    Hope this helps but all the information is right there in the book.

    As for allocating hits, it depends on the size of the unit. If there are 5 or more rank and file models from the unit alive then the character cannot be picked out and all wounds are allocated against the unit first.

    If however there are less than 5 models you msut allocate which models are hit, but cannot direct more than one hit per model until every model in the unit has been alocated against.

    Example, your unit with a vamp lord, and 2 wraiths (total of 3 models) is hit 5 times by a magic missile. You must allocate hits to all 3 models, and then you may choose which models suffer the remaining 2 hits (from the origional 5).

    think that could be clearer but have given it a shot.
    Last edited by saltrock36; November 5th, 2010 at 00:31.

  4. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Age
    32
    Posts
    127
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    7 (x1)

    thanks for that its pretty clear.

    so 4 wraiths and a banshee and the vamp lord

    w w b v w w (spaced coz they are skirmish) dose the banshee count as rank and file in
    this line up . If this is correct only the wraiths will take wounds until is dead then wounds are allocated to all the others but you must allocate 1 wound to each before you can allocate a second on that model.

  5. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    223
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    16 (x1)

    the banshee does not count as rank and file, just as unit champions in block units do not count as rank and file. In the formation you have above, all hits would be randomized equally between the models. I.E. 6 hits would be 4 hits on the wraiths, 1 hit on the vamp, and 1 hit on the banshee.

  6. #5
    Organised Chaos saltrock36's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    England
    Age
    30
    Posts
    1,233
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    107 (x4)

    Yes as Finchht09 has correctly stated, unit champions do not count towards the minimum number of rank and file in the unit. To allocate hits against only the unit you would need; 1 Vamp lord, 1 Banshee, and then 5 Wratihs for a total od 7 models.

    Due to this i would be concerned with the risk of putting the lord in the unit as a pose to having him stand close to a big blocked unit in support of the wraith unit instead. This would give your vamp a 4+ "look out sir" but is not so safe as he can be targeted specificaly.

    To find the best solution who role is you spectral vamp taking in your army? if he was a general i would sit him in a or behind a big unit or skeletons/ grave guard/ ghouls/ whatever you choice, and have him support your army from the centre with either magic or combat, but if he is just a support character i would be fine with him in the wraith unit.

  7. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Age
    32
    Posts
    127
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    7 (x1)

    well im not a vamp player. I played my friends vamp army on wednesday and it was only our second , third ands fourth games. he did this with his general. just making sure we did everthing right. I think he is likely to do the same again next time. i play lizardmen by the way.

  8. #7
    Member PsychoticVampire's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Age
    26
    Posts
    109
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    33 (x1)

    Remember that he can't join spirit host as they are swarms, I have seen people make this mistake before.

    I find it good to run either a lord with hunter in the dark, ethereal and infinite hatred by himself to kill off war machines, shooters (only in larger games, where you can have another general), or a lord, BSB and as many wraiths as you can get, in a very fragile but nasty deathstar.

  9. #8
    Member Lokyar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Age
    26
    Posts
    88
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    4 (x1)

    DO NOT PUT VAMPIRE LORDS IN WRAITH UNITS!!!!!!!!!
    he is your GENERAL do you want him to be DEAD?!?!?!?!?
    as soon as possible he will be targeted by every magic missile or other magical damage attacks
    you will be DEAD with a 4+ AS (aka only 5+/6+ left after spell) and you will be crumbling the rest of the game (except if u got a second lord or other special but this is highly unlikely under 2500 points)
    and if there is 1 banshee dead u wont even get a look out sir because there are only 4 rank-and-file men in there

  10. #9
    Member drach42's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    SE Michigan
    Age
    30
    Posts
    80
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    8 (x1)

    You can easily put the vampire lord in with the wraiths it is only 275 pts for the vamp lord with a great weapon or 2 hand weapons that is etheral to go with your wraiths. You can take another 350 pt lord if you wanted in a 2500 pt game to be your general. There arn't that many armies with magical shooting, so you really only need to worry about MM or DD spells. With the speed that wraiths move at that should only be one round. It would be a fine tactic, you just have to be careful of what you hit with that unit.

  11. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Age
    23
    Posts
    195
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    16 (x1)

    drach is on the right track. Having your lord in a 2k game as a ethereal vamp is risky at best and shouldn't be tried.
    A scouting, Great weapon weilding, ethereal vampire behind enemy lines...hello gunlines. And after he kills it he can go back to supporting your army, its full-proof as long as the dont have magic cannon balls (darn dwarfs and their runes)
    Regarding the magic, if you have a ethereal vampire lord you probably have a lvl 3 or 4 caster, which means you have a fair enough chance of dispelling something your opponent throws at your etheral camp. You then either get unlucky rolls, or he kills himself and his army with an Irrisistable force.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts