Welcome to Librarium Online!
I don't know if this has been discussed or debated here before, but a friend of mine pointed it out and I'd like to get a wider base of opinions.
If you read the text of the red fury power, it says that any wound caused by the vampire results in an immediate extra attack. Here's the kicker.... It doesn't say anything about the initial wound needing to be caused in the close combat phase.
I've looked this up in the official FAQs and it's not mentioned at all. Clearly, the fluff intends that the wound must be caused in combat, which results in an extra attack. But following the strick letter of the rulebook, would wounds caused by spells from that caster count? If a vampire in combat casts purple sun and kills 15-20 models, would it then get to make 15-20 attacks, as the text does not specify it has to be wounds caused in combat? Or are those 15-20 wounds credited to the spell and not the caster?
Again, I know the fluff of the power implies it must be in combat. That's the way I've always played it, and the way I plan to continue to do so. I'm just wondering what everyone elses thoughts on the matter are.
Weird connection and i doubt that it would work with spells. Red Fury says that you make additional attacks, so in that sense it can only work in close combat (dont think that the other guy has to take 15 moore Ini test)
Thats just my way of seeing it. Would be cool if somehow you could have the bow Lizardmen have (3 S5 attacks) and Red Fury, maybe that would be more logical than magic.
ok, well what about tthe Staff of Damnation. Those wounds would not be caused in the combat phase, but I'll bet we all play that one as getting the red fury benifit. Now either way I'd say you would have to be in combat, in b2b with an enemy, to benifit from red fury, otherwise theres nothing to attack. But if wounds caused in the magic phase by staff of damnation (which releases a bound spell) count, why not regular spells? Doesn't have to be purple sun, take winds of undeath or curse of years for that matter....
As for the bow, how are you going to shoot when you're in combat. I'm not versed in lizardmen, so I don't know if that bow allows such a thing or not.
Red fury says "he may make an immediate additional attack" this right here means he had to have made an attack in the first place.
Staff of Damnation is specifically allowing models to make an attack in the magic phase.
If a vampire with red fury makes an unsaved wound via the use of the staff of damnation then he would be allowed to make an additional attack.
Staff of Damnation grants a round of Close combat to the unit affected with all rules that would apply in the following Natural round I.E. +2S for charging with lances etc etc
NB. however this does not actually count as the first round of combat so all those bonus's still apply in the first actual round of Natural combat giving you double the POWWA!