Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
If I take the Fencers blades and Helm of Commandment on a Lord does he transfer the unit weapon skill 10?
I can't remember the exact ruling on this one. I think I remember reading somewhere that the additional stat gain only applies when the item is in use, meaning that the blades only grant WS 10 when the vampire is in combat. If it's in combat, it can't project its weapon skill. I would say that no, it can not project WS 10. But I'll also say this: Even if I'm wrong and it CAN project WS 10, its not worth it. There are only a handful of models in the entire game with WS 8+, so 7 should be more than enough. The only things that have 8+ would be enemy lords anyway, and for those you want your lord (of a wight king with sword of kings.... ). The fact remains that there are much better uses for the points. Helm of commandment is potentially the most powerful item in the VC book now I think, so stick with that. But as far as the blades are concerned, just give the lord some armor or a ward save. I usually give the helm to a magic lord. He's not supposed to be in combat anyway. Vamp lord on foot with that minus to shooting light armor, and the wristbands of (virtually) immune to range ward save, coupled with the helm is a great combo. Unless you're opponent knows what's going on, they'll likely focus all fire on the lone character. If he does, you just sit there and smile, because you've got a 3++ vs ranged. If you'd rather, go with the spellshield instead of the light armor. now you've got a 2++ vs. magic. Best part is, since miscast results are not considered close combat, they fall under the "ranged" category. As such, you'll still have a 3++ vs any miscast wounds.
I agree. The only thing that can be used that combination of objects is to do the enemy hit you with 5+.
Imagine the face of your adversary when he see how his regular troops must hit your zombies with 5+ to hit... hehehe.
I think that it is worth to put this combo.
It most definitely does project WS10 just like the Accursed armour on a lord would project WS 4.
Finchht09 the blades give WS10 all the time, just like the Accursed armour gives +1T all the time.
Miscasts are not ranged... they are magic but not spells so MR does not help.
WS is the best defence you can give zombies and skeletons and WS10 helps vs WS4 or less troops so if you fight a lot of WS5 troops the fencer blades don't offer much.
Directly from the GW Warhammer BRB FAQ, page 4:
"Q: Does a weapon that gives a bonus to a characteristic only give the bonus when being used to attack a model?
A: Yes, including magic weapons unless specifically stated otherwise."
The lord only gets WS 10 when he is attacking a model. Clear as day, and specifically covered by the FAQ. The helm does NOT project WS 10.
consider how the Gold Sigil Sword is worded; "Attacks made with the Gold Sigil Sword are made at Initiative 10".
very different to and very specific...
and yet, our lovely fencer's blades are simply,"The bearer has Weapon Skill 10."
no +(stat) or attacks made with, just a blanket you are now epic win!
so i will still argue that the FB's indeed allow a vampire to pass on it's WS10 through the helm...
and now consider this, the way that the general's 'Inspiring Presence' is worded, you can slap him 6" behind a unit of say, zombies, and then cast Okkam's Mindrazor on the unit to gain a monstrously halarious WS10/S10 zombie hoard!!!
In the new FAQ it is pretty clear now that the fencers blades means they are weapon skill 10. This is certainly a trick I will be using more often. Now I am stuck with choosing Lore of light or shadow with my general.
i) A unit of 24 High Elf Swordmasters in 3 ranks of 8 charges a unit of 50 Zombies in horde formation
ii) Vampire Lord, 6" behind Zombies & wielding Fencer's Blades, uses his/her Helm of Commandment and Okkam's Mindrazor on zombies
iii) Zombies gain WS10 & S10
iv) Swordmasters' attacks get batted aside as though they were nothing
Swordmasters: Oh $&#@!!
Vampire Lord: *laughs maniacally*
v) Zombies proceed to pummel a good chunk or so of the swordmasters
vi) Swordmasters flee, zombies inflict 4-5 D6 S2(10?) attacks at WS10 on the fleeing Swordmasters, whom get wiped out to only one (if any)
Now zombies seem even more daunting than they were before.
I am going to try this tomorrow and hope no one catches on to my evil plans lol. A pathetic unit of zombies are now rediculous with this combo, nevermind how easy they are to raise.
the hits from the 'shambling hoard' rule will still only be S2, even if the unit is affected by mindrazzor... the rules in the zombie's unit entry in the bestiary is pretty plain as day as it specifically mentions S2 hits.
keep in mind though, the attacks are auto-hitting so their still great for sheer annoyance value!