Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Hey guys ive seen a few people talk about putting 5 hero wraiths infront of skeletons(no command ) now this seems fine rules wise. Im just wondering what happens to spells that hit the unit from the front. If the wraiths block a unit from attacking it surley they would take the spell hit?
I think you can only take 0-1 as a Hero choice.
That's only in a pact, ie the new Storm of magic rules. They're just regular heroes in a VC army
you talking about wight kings? you make it sound like you're talking about cairn wraiths, or more specifically tomb banshees.
if you're talking about the wights, then its perfectly legal and all. Any shooting or spells directed at the unit would hit the skeletons as long as there are at least 5 skeletons left. If something says that the front rank specifically takes the hits, then you would take look out sir rolls so long as there are at least 5 skeletons left.
I remember someone telling me once that you aren't REQUIRED to take a LOS roll. but I've looked through the book, and the FAQ. Book doesn't say you MAY roll, it says roll. The unit cares for the characters/champions more than thier own individual lives and will push the guy out of the way, whether he wants them to or now. FAQ does not say you're allowed to NOT roll it. If someone can point out where (if) it says you can refuse to take a LOS roll I'd love to see it.
So essentially, the wights in the front rank will help you in combat, but all shooting/spells will have a 5/6 chance to hit skeletons. so you'll be a beast in combat, since they can't target skeletons, but all shooting and spells will still tear the unit apart.
no i am talking about the new hero wraith choices. 5 in the front row of skeleies meaning anything that charges the front needs magic attacks the do any harm or they will win combat by having better stataic combat res as no skelies will die.
i just looked at the GW site and sure enough it was saying that they were characters now. I was about to ask where i could find that stuff.
So is this an official amendment? or is it like an alternate list scheme like the all slayer dwarfs army?
Nope, banshee and wraiths characters, as well as the terror-thingie got the "official rules" stamp
Aren't the new Wraiths running at something like 75pt/model? That's a little pricey to be stuffing 5 into the front rank. I'd totally do it with some GraveGuard Greatweapons though. Alternatively, you could run them as a "unit" of their own, and put your Vampire in there, then run the 5 wide and kick the vampire to the "second rank", giving him a nice little shield. Or even 2x3, with the Vampire in the middle of the "back" rank, protecting him from flank charges as well.
But anyways, it would be legal.