Welcome to Librarium Online!
Ok so I have tried the Terrorgheist and he is really awesome!
But we came upon a problem or maybe it is easy to answer?
Anyway I charged a bolt thrower and I got in to combat, in the shooting phase i whiped the whole unit. But what happends after? I mean I killed the unit before closecombat even started. Do I get a reform or am i standing still or what?
I would believe that although you wiped him out in the shooting phase, you still count as winning a combat. The essence being that once you have charges into him, you are in combat which happens in the movement phase. I would say that you sit there until the combat phase though, then you can rotate yourslef into a position you want to be in.
On a personal note, im considering taking a TerrorG but as a rare. how are you finding flying about at 10" a turn, or how are you getting around needing to be withing 12" of the general to march? Have you taken it as a mount for your lord instead? Im just wondering becuase i think i might be better off with bloodknights if 10" is a struggle. On a smaller model i wouldnt have a problem with 10" but as big as it is im not moving ever double its base size.
Well first game I proxed a few TerroGs.
I had Ghoul king on a TerrogG (no upgrades), and two TerrorGs as rare and with them 3 vargheists at a 2000 pts army. That game I had the skellies etc in the front a few necros behind.
I looked where my mate placed his units (High Elves). And I started with my core seeing where he putted his army and I saved all my flyers for last.
I putted all flyers behind the walkin units on the right side.
I measured so I had ranged first turn ofcourse, and even the 2nd one so I could marsh. Though the rest of the flyers turn one went as far they could (still being 12" withing general) And turn two I had one TerrorG in combat and the vargheists. Turn three I had all my Terrorgheist in combat. They went as a team. General + TerrorG and TerrorG with the vargheist.
I got lucky with one of my two lvl2 necros to get "vanhels danse macabre". So I did some signature spell he didnt like those, dispelling them. And I saved the "vanhels danse macabre" for the last all the time. Depending on winds of magic I either casted it on one unit or extended on more units for the extra 8" movment if not in combat, worked pretty well.
At the end of my turn four he gave up!
Notice to my self. Lore of shadows is nasty with the spell that reduces 1d3 T. He tried it several times on my TerrorGs but he never got it away, thanks to good dispellings and Corpsecart with balefire!
And one more thing- If I was to use one TerrorG only, I would play him not that offensive. Have him behind my line for one turn or hide in the front behind a cover if possible. But if he is in the back turn 1 I can hopefully see if there is any fast cavalry that wants to flank me and there I send my TerrorG.
The 10" movement wasn't that much of a problem to be honest, if you face an army that is on the move I could charge 2nd turn or at the latest 3rd. And if it is an army that is static and not moving im in combat 3rd turn.
Hope that helped some and thanks for the pointers about deathshriek!
if you have 3 ghiests running around and want to charge all 3 into a unit, you'd better hope you win. One steadfast or stuborn roll and you're going to be out a LOT of points. Glad that worked out well for you.
Otherwise though, never let these guys see combat, and always make sure they have an escape route. I was playing a game the other night where my gheist had nowhere to go. 10" fly movment wasn't enough to get out of site of enemy dragon princes. I was left with only 2 options: fly away and stay useless, or charge the princes to negate their lance bonus. I don't like useless units, so I charged in there. I'll still get to scream at them each turn, and S3 isn't too likely to wound me, right? well my scream that turn killed 2 of 7, which is really sad. Even at S3, the remaining 5 (and their horses) put 4 wounds on me. i killed 2 princes with my 4 attacks, which was lucky as crap considering the 4+ save they had after S5. One less kill and I'd have popped to combat res. I lost by 1, and ended the round with 1 wound left. I died in his combat phase the following round. do NOT let these guys get into combat under any circumstances. S3 still hurts, apparently.
To be fair, my opponent was really lucky to land that may wounds on me, and I rolled sub-par for my scream first round. It was a good decision to charge in there and negate the lance bonus. Dice gods just weren't smiling on the vampires that night. Same game, my unit of 6 crypt horrors managed to get a whole 2 wounds on some spearmen. I didn't expect to win that combat in the long run, but i didnt think i'd die so hard in the first round.
And you said something about "I don't like useless units, so I charged in there. I'll still get to scream at them each turn," Each turn, you mean in there's aswell? Something I have missed?
Last edited by Padea; January 28th, 2012 at 12:14.
To comment on what finch said, did you do there stomping attacks aswell? it sounds like you missed out on those. I mean with 2d6+ remaining wounds, screaming at him would result in atleast 4 cassualties on average if your at full wounds, and with 4 more attacks plus another 2d6 worth of stomps, should be more than enough to handle most small cavalry units, i think you just had some really bad luck there, and on average i don't think dragon princes would be doing 4 wounds to you, he must have got really lucky with all his attacks considering they all need 6's to wound, and he will only get like 4 into base contact with you.
You can actually have a total of 6 cav models in base contact with the front of a terrorgeist. its 100mm wide, and cav are 25mm. 4 fits "perfectly" with an extra one on each side for "corner to corner" contact. And no, i didn't do the thunderstomp, because it would have been against the rules. You can't thunderstomp against cav forces. They're considered to be too big, even for the gheist. I personally disagree with this, I think large target should be able to stomp anything but another large target. But I don't make the rules. But even still, it would only be 1d6 thunderstomp, not 2d6.
and yeah, roll was sub-par (below average) for my scream, and he got very lucky. I got very lucky landing 2 wounds myself, but my luck was just keeping me alive rather than gaining an advantage.
Ya it's been a while since I have played the game, and I'm super rusty on the rules, I need to have a better look at them.
Stomp/thunderstomp only works on infantry, war beasts, and swarms.