Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Ok, this came up in a game i was playing last night, and I'd like to get the opinion of the masses.
Black knights have the spectral steed rule, allowing them to move through terrain peices without caring. There is no argument that a unit of black knights would be permitted to move through a building, for example, so long as it does not END its movmenet in/on the building.
But what if that same building has been garrisoned by a unit? Can the knights still move through it?
The way I see it, The rule says that they treat all terrain like open terrain. So they essentially ignore the fact that the building is there. So from their prospective, the unit is just sitting there in a formation, because they simply ignore the fact that the building is there, but can't ignore the fact that the unit is there. Therefore, the black knights would NOT be able to move through a garrisoned building.
My opponent (who was trying to do this) tried to argue that a building is a building, and that regardless of whether the unit is inside it or not, it still counts as a piece of terrain and can still be moved through. I countered with the fact that if a unit was in a forest, it still counts as a forest, but you still can't move through the unit.
ultimately we just let the game continue and rolled off for it. 4+ it counted as a unit still, and therefore could not be moved through. based on the roll, the unit could NOT move through the building, but what does everyone else think about this? have you ever encountered the instance? how did you resolve it?
I don't have easy access to the vamp book, but I have read it, and I remember the rules. What I can't remember is if spectral steed let's you move through enemy units or not.
If it does not say that you can, then that means you can't.
Now, assuming that black knights can't move through units, then thay would mean that the knights could not move through the garrisoned building. A unit being in a building does not make that unit suddenly not exist on the battlefield, so all restrictions and rules applying to units still apply unless otherwise stated.
TL;DR If the spectral steed rule states you can ride through units, you can ride through a garrisoned building, if it doesn't, you can't.
May the Dragon of Unhappiness never fly up your bottom.
As far as I can understand from both the Ethereal USR and the spectral steeds you can't move through enemy units.
So I would say that Wight Kings, Black Knights cant move through the building while it is occupied however Hexwraiths have a special rule that allows them to if the opponants unit is unengaged.
Yes people i know that my spelling and punctuation is awful but I am product of British teaching pollicies so what can I do about it?
Thats what i was thinking too, i'm glad to see others think the same way. He jumped a unit of skeletons into a building, then a turn or so later tried to go through the building that had them inside. seems the general opinion is that you can't go through a garrisoned building with black knights.
Hexwraiths, on the other hand, would still be able to, yes. I had a unit of hex's in that game and wrecked his mortis engines and corpse carts.