Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Had a game the other day and this situation came up, which spawned a conversation about several other hypothetical situations. Anyway, what are everyone's thoughts?
Ethereal units can only be wounded by magic attacks. so if a spirit host was charged by a giant... the only thing it can do is yell and brall, i loose by 2. i'll still tie him up for at least 2 rounds of combat. Thats what I thought. can an ethereal unit be effected by the "pick up and" attack? techically its not "wounding" it, so i just let it go. didnt make a difference in the game anyway. but the question remains, can ethereal units be "picked up" by giants. I conceaded that they could. however, it brings up a few other questions...
can swarms (like the spirit host) be picked up? it doesn't make any sense for a giant to be able to pick up an entire swarm with that attack. i know it says pick a model, and a swarm base is a single model, it just doesn't make sense to me.
Also, lets say that a cairn wraith (since its not a swarm model) is "picked up" and thrown into another unit. Say it was thrown into a spirit host. Would the hits inflicted by the wraith count as magical, thus hurting the host? its not the giant dealing damage, its the impact of the "magical" model inflicting the hits. On this one, I would say yes. If a wraith gets thrown into a spirit host, or more wraiths, or a black coach or whatever, i would say that the D6 hits (or whatever it is) would be magical, since they're techically coming from the thrown model.
What do you guys think?
On pure logic, I'm part of the camp that says the giant can pick up the wraith. But even if he can throw him, I still don't think the Wraith being thrown would harm other ethereal unit. Under the Ethereal rule it says that the Close Combat attacks of the ethereal model are magical, and too me the impact isn't a close combat attack.
Unless the giant has a magical Michael Jackson glove, the attack isnt magical, so cannot pick up ethereal units.
Yell and bawl i would say yeh he auto wins as normal, effectively he just doesnt give a damn about the ghoasties and is getting psyched up, but thats if he's lucky enough to roll it.
Swarms you can imagen him scooping up a handfull of whatever, i.e. serpent swarm, tomb swarms, snotlings, etc, but once again, unless he has been buffed with a spell or some other means to have magical attacks he isnt picking up any ethereal unit any time soon.
As the giant wont be picking up an ethereal unit the next point is a bit moot, (unless as mentioned he is buffed with magical attacks,) but, as ethereal units are classed as magical and having magical attacks, i would say ethereal units hit by ethereal units do cause wounds. It would be treated, at least in my opinion, as a magic missile.
Giants do indeed have a michael jackson glove up their sleeves!
considering the text that ethereals can be eaten.. i mean beaten in combat, i do not think you will have a case against the ´pick up and...` roll. Some of the outcomes will work against ethereals such as pick up and stuff it, or eat it. Others, like throw back and hurl will have no effect. It´s doesnt fit the fluff i suppose, but in a competition fluffy doesnt say very much
The ethereal rule prevents the giant from causing wounds, not from removing wraiths.
Warchief Diggah o da Bloodmoon Squiggahs