Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Last edited by WraithGuardian; April 12th, 2012 at 22:44.
Magic Armor under the name doesn't designate what type of item it is, it designates what category of magic item it is. The rule on p. 502 of the main rulebook is basically saying you can't wield two shields, or two suits of armor. You can, however, wear nonmagical heavy armor, and a shield, and still spend points to get the Dragonhelm. You can't, however, wear standard heavy armor and then buy the Armor of Destiny, because it says "Heavy armor" in it's description. You can't use a normal shield and also use the Charmed Shield. If you want to look in a newer release, look in the new OK book on p. 63, at the Gut Maw. It says "Magic Armour" under it's name, but goes on to clarify that it is heavy armor in the first line of the description, which means it not only takes up your one "Magic Armour" slot, but also counts as mundane heavy armor, meaning you can't take any other light armor/heavy armor/full plate/etc. See what I mean? Again, this is just my opinion, I can't find anything about this in any of the errata, but by the way you're saying it works, then if you took the Charmed Shield/Trickster's Helm/Helm of Discord/Spellshield/etc with a character, you couldn't take any mundane armor, because a Charmed Shield/Trickster's Helm/Helm of Discord/Spellshield/etc is considered "Magic Armor."
If you want to keep playing like that Im sure most of the newer players wont notice. But in a competitive setting they will never allow it, and most of the experienced players will call you out on it.
For the same reason you can't wear armor of destiny with heavy armor, it's one or the other, and you can only ever take one magic armor item be it a shield, helm or body armor. Maybe you're of the opinion that the nightshroud is NOT body armor in fact, but similar to the dragon helm, a sort of accessory - "hey I'll just wrap this shroud over my armor" kinda deal. I think that's wishful thinking.
Unfortunately WraithGuardian has it right, you can try, but don't be surprised if people get mad about it once they find out
8th ed sure did a shoddy job at explaining the magic armour/ mundane armour. The problems seem to lie within the Helm variants of "Magical Armour + the Nightshroud" The other "Magic Armours" already have heavy or light armour listed in thier description with the exception of silvered steel.
Now Wraithguardian your saying If I take Helm of Discord, that I can not take Heavy Armour. You say this I believe because of the 1st Bullet point. ".Bla bla bla.............It replaces any mundane equivalent already worn by the model." Correct...??
But then following the logic if I took a Magic Sheild I would not be able to take magic armour because of the wording in the bullet point
However following TYPESET1's logic ,,, A helm is a helm, not armour and not a sheild. Just as Amour is Armour, not a helm and not a sheild. Just as a sheild is a Sheild, not a helm and not armour.
Ill probably catch hell for it, but 7th ed did a much better job of wording it...
If a model has a magic shield he is allowed to wear
a suit of normal armour. If a model is wearing a
magic helm he is allowed to wear a suit of normal
armour and carry a normal shield. If the model is
wearing a suit of magic armour he is allowed to
carry a normal shield.
Now yes, you may say its the wrong ed. but it sure is clearer to understand. but please check out pg 121, 7th ed book and you will see what I mean.
Also... So a Nightshroud is a Shroud, not Armour and not a helm and not a Sheild. So you can take Nightshroud + Normal Armour + Normal Sheild..
NECRON Army List Builder a Free excel capable list generator for 5th and 6th ed. 11/2011
Necrons - 6000 points, Tau - 6000, Daemons - 5250, Eldar - 4500, Blood Angels - 5000
Some pics form my hobby. http://s145.photobucket.com/albums/r...arodragon/40k/
I feel camarodragon is correct on this matter. If you couldn't wear the nightshroud along with light or heavy armor it would say it was light or heavy armor in its description like it does for the armor of destiny or the glittering scales. The nightshroud is more like the Trickster's helm.
It's definitely something you wear in conjunction with other pieces of armor. Its rules description is identical to the Dragonhelm. I'm frankly baffled that anyone would think otherwise.
"The best defense is a good offense." -Gen. George S. Patton
My philosophy on gaming, courtesy of Herm Edwards.
a shroud goes over the body like armor. one or the other. can't stack mundane armor and magical armor, thus can't stack shroud and mundane armor. Maybe if it was called a cape? Ya 8th ed. didn't make it clear. Just seems like people are making the argument that I can wrap my shroud around my armor which seems to be stretching the rules.
Regardless of what they meant, it all depends on the red shirts. If your local GW allows you to get away with heavy armor AND a shroud, then by all means feel free. My local store is strictly against it.
In the 7th Ed Vampire Counts book it says that the Night Shroud was light armour (p.85). Although, it does not state that it is in the current 8th Ed book. However, the wording in the new book suggests it is a kind of wrapping (Shroud) and it is doubled in point costs. I would say it can be combined with mundane armour / helm / shield.