Welcome to Librarium Online!
i wonna understand this little 'phenomonen', speed bump.
my black knights are within charge range of enemy cavalry, i therefore make a speed bump of, say, 6 skellies.
now the enemy cavalry cant charge me, because of the speed bump blocking line of sight.
if the cavalry charge the speed bumb, they will surely win the combat and overrun directly into my black knights...
is that how its meant to be used??
if not, please let me know how..
Yeah I wondered that as well, certainly makes a tactics like that as described not particularly useful.
Its more like you make the speed bump when your opponent is still a long way away to slow them down. It can also do things like forcing them to move into charge range of some of your units, or make them overrun into a large block that has something on the side ready to flank.
Thats my understanding..
Or you could even align the formation of the sacrificial unit in such a way that when it is overrun, the unit which killed them is pulled completely out of position, because it has to align its formation when it charges and it has to overrun directly to it's front. This works exceptionally well against frenzied units, as they do not have the choice to not charge the sacrificial unit.
EDIT: Strewart, so true that is.
Last edited by Corianis; July 26th, 2005 at 12:27.
Greetings from Planet X, I hope you enjoy your day.
Join us in the Librarium Online Chatroom
Yes! I knew I was forgetting something. Thats how you do it. Allign the speed bump away at an angle, so that when the other unit charges it they cannot overrun into your unit in front and end up overrunning off at some awkward angle and you can flank them really easily. Speed bumps will very rarely be sitting straight on I think.
Corianis, another in SA. Not many around.
Actually, in the situation just described the BK would get a counter charge because the Skellies wouldn't run. If the opponent destroys them all on his turn then you can charge him as he can't overun, and if he doesn't finish the on his turn you can raise another speed bump.
Revlid - The Overrun rule means if you wipe out you opponent in the first turn you get a pursue type move even though they don't flee. So yes they would still overrun of the speed bump was done over quickly.
I use small, summoned units a few ways. SOmetimes, I bring up a unit of zombies and plop it behind enemy lines. This will march block the enemy and make him fear a flank or rear charge. If I do charge one of his units with the zombies, you can then tie up the unit for a turn or two while maneuvering other units in for additional charge.
Another tactic is to summon a unit of troops at a right angle to a main unit. Say an existing unit of skeletons is aligned horizontally, then I will summon another unit perpendicular to them. The enemy has no choice but to be flanked, assuming I let him get into the right position first. He must either charge the new unit and be hit in the side the original unit, or vice versa.
Speed bump units, specifically, need to be large enough to stand a round of combat; otherwise, as has been pointed out above, the enemy may overrun into another unit. The idea is to hold the enemy while a beefier unit wades into the thick of things. Overrunning can be to your advantage, though, again as others have already said. Just make sure that you've positioned units properly. So if the fleshhounds of khorne break through your expendable 5-model zombie unit, they run straight, and just past, a waiting unit of ghouls, who will charge the hounds in turn.
So it really is all about positioning. Do you want the speed bump unit at an angle? What other units are nearby? What is your purpose: march block the enemy, slow the enemy through combat, through off the enemy's trajectory, and so on.
Ugh...didn't expect myself to go into a treatise on the matter!
sle my Undead friend!!!
You put your men out of his over run move (18inches at max) you move full,14, then use your magical charge to push forward into his ass!!
PROUD TO BE IN THE BRITISH ARMY.
~~ Surrender and serve me in life, or die and slave for me in death~~