Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Does the wraith crew of the black coach have the ability to strike at non-ethereal models with the great weapon?
Non-ethereal? Yes. It doesn't have the special rules for wraiths, it is simply a crew member. Since he holds a mundane great weapon he couldn't hurt ethereal creatures though if that is what you meant..
thanks. Do you know how it works in close combat? It has no weapons skill or attacks value.
The coach works like a chariot, giving impact hits on the charge. You'll find that the wraith and the nightmares pulling it have their own WS, attacks and strength to fight. The actual coach can't fight beyond impact hits though.
Yes, and impact hits count towards combat resolution.
Strewart, it's my understanding that ethereal creatures can only be hit by magic or other ethereal creatures. So shouldn't a wraith be able to hit other ethereals?
Yes, a wraith can hit other ethereal creatures but the difference with the coach is he doesn't get the special rules of a wraith, he is simply a crewmember like any other army except with the name wraith and a great weapon. He isn't ethereal because he's part of the coach.
I didn't know that. I've been playing him as ethereal all this time. Where is that made clear? Is there an FAQ on it? I know you know your stuff pretty well, so I'm tending to believe you, but the skeptic in me wants to see it explained somewhere. I mean, if he's a wraith, then why wouldn't he be ethereal?
After thinking about it, I got myself even more confused. I kind of see how you're right since the model has only 5 wounds and they aren't divided between the crew and the chariot. Then I got more confused. Are wounds divided? I mean, can the wraith be killed off, leaving the chariot stranded?
I'd been playing it where attacks that randomized against the wraith, when they were mundane attacks, were simply tossed out. I thought it was grand. But now I'm not so sure.
Last edited by DavidWC09; August 7th, 2005 at 00:31.
No there has been several threads in this forum asking exactly the same thing not too long ago, search for them if you like..
Since the wounds value is for the coach alone it also includes the wraith and the horses, that means you cannot allocate wounds to the wraith, nor can he die leaving the coach still alive. I don't think there is an FAQ on it because it is fairly straightforward, the rules say it counts as a chariot so follows the rules for chariots, that is the crew and things pulling it can't be killed seperately. Look at the entry in the army book, it doesn't say ethereal anywhere and the wraith doesn't have a wound or toughness characteristic, so how could you kill him?
Treat it like an extra 2 attacks at his strength and WS every turn, as you would for the nightmares, but not as a character with special rules.
Edit: I found some old threads..
Reply to thread by you
Here (Black Coach) is the thread I was looking for, this post is all you need. Fluff-wise, it is ethereal, but rulewise on the coach it isn't.
Last edited by strewart; August 7th, 2005 at 02:56.
You're bursting my ethereal bubble!
But yeah, I see how that makes sense. And you're right, I noticed that nothing about the entry mentioned the wraith being ethereal.
Oh well, I owe my opponents a few hits.
Thanks for clarifying.
Hmm. Intresting. But as I remeber it u could kill the nightmares of a black coach in the old version of VC, atleast ive seen a battle in the white dwarf (cheking the number). So that rule has been removed?
Last edited by SpiritKnight; August 9th, 2005 at 10:31.