Welcome to Librarium Online!
i was having a game in the local GW today, making sure that i understood the rules with the staff there (they are very helpful to be fair)
but i was told that a unit of spear men (in this case my skeles) could only attack with its 2nd rank on the turn it was charged... any one ever heard this before? ive just read the section in the rules and it doesnt mention anything like that.
have actually got rather annoyed with playing against dwarves now, the ndead really can grind anything down in low level battles.
i also repainted my bases from green with flock, to brown with sand and gravel with static grass... its 100 times better.
cheers for any help
Thats not completely true... Its close though. You can't fight in two ranks if you've moved that turn. So on the turn you charge, you only get one rank of fighting. If you charge, and stay in combat, then next round since you haven't moved you get two attacks.
defending or during ongoing combat you fight in 2 ranks.
charging you can only fight in the first rank.
this is why i rather have a hand weapon and shield(4+ save in HtH) and have a character who does the killing.
and assuming you use 20 or 25 ranked up 5x4 or 5x5 i find a better armour save is better than 5 ws2 str3 attacks.
""What's the matter? Don't ya like clowns? Don't we make ya laugh?" - Captain Spaulding.
yeah, its one of my main units in a 1000 points battle, so i need the extra hitting power from the 2nd rank. was a bit shocked to hear this... well, wrong... info from the shop lol.
i can always raise new units of poorly armed skeles if i need them, but its all about the cheap zombies... neither of the units can do any killing, so its just a task of making a huge unit of zombes behind enemy lines then just ploughing through the ranks... easy as pie.
i found that i can hold up a unit of dwaves easily with a unit of spear men, they cant risk charging down the 10 attacks thatll be coming their way, and they cant turn to take something else, without being flanked and easily beaten on combat res.. then fleeing... on this system, i can just move a thrall between each unit turn by turn, charge down the unit. kill it, then move onto another unit.
only think itll work on the slow dwarves tho.
cheers for the help
Oh, that's not too unusual. I've corrected our GW store's manager, but not as often as he's corrected me. I think that's the nature of the game. The rules are so blinking complex that even the most adept rule-gurus I know make errors on occasion. (Except for Tzeentch Lord. He's been right every time I've seen him post).Originally Posted by Craig_regicide