Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
hey I play vs my friend alot and he is a VC player. I have a few questions about the 1st level spell, the one that can heal or summon. I was wondering if he can heal himself with that spell. I also wanted to know if he can summon minions when he, the caster, is in close combat. And what about if the caster is on a monstrous mount, can he still create or add to a unit of summons behind him or out of line of sight? For his big chariot, I was wondering if the chariot still gains a wound even if the skeleton horses pulling causes a wound.
For a while we were strict about magic. It had to say you could cast it in close combat or you couldnt. Now we let you do it so long as its not a "magic Missle" or explicitly says not in CC. Yes this upset my opponents when I would heal 3 wounds etc.
Yes, any undead unit can be healed, which means everything except ghouls and bat swarms.Originally Posted by KhamalYes, as it's not a line of sight spell, he can cast it while in CC.I also wanted to know if he can summon minions when he, the caster, is in close combat.As stated above, IoN is not a LoS spell and can be cast freely at any point within range.And what about if the caster is on a monstrous mount, can he still create or add to a unit of summons behind him or out of line of sight?All wounds caused by the model as a whole add wounds to the chariot.For his big chariot, I was wondering if the chariot still gains a wound even if the skeleton horses pulling causes a wound.
Wow, really?Originally Posted by DavidVC04
A game I played at Games Workshop, the guy who works there gave me the explanation that a spell will specifically say it cannot be cast in closed combat, meaning I could cast Invocation of Nehek while in close combat.
However, in a later game I was playing with a friend, I noticed that I had a spell (Hand of Dust) that specifically says it can be cast in close combat, so I just assumed the guy at Games Workshop got it mixed up and the spell will have to say that it can be cast in close combat.
Now, Hand of Dust doesn't count as a line of sight spell, seeing as it can only be cast on the caster himself. So I am just curious, if it is only line of sight spells that cannot be cast while in close combat, why would Hand of Dust say it can be cast while in close combat?
Warhammer Fantasy: Vampire Counts | Wood Elves | Chaos
The rulebook only says spells can't be cast at units in CC. In the case of Hand of Dust, it can be cast at a model in combat (himself) and Invocation can be cast into combat too as stated in the VC army book. Normally, spells can't be cast at units in combat.
You can cast from combat to units outside of combat as normal, unless it is a LoS spell. I don't think you get LoS from combat..
Yeah, Nell2ThaIzzay, you were right in figuring out that the GW guy was wrong. He had it backwards. Spells will specifically say "can be cast into CC" or something very similar. Otherwise, not.
Magic Missles and LoS spells can not be cast while in CC.
Here's what Direwolves has to say...Q. If a Wizard or his unit is engaged in close combat with enemy models
is the Wizard allowed to cast spells?
A. There is no general rule preventing a Wizard from casting spells while
he or his unit is in close combat, but specific spells may not be castable
in this situation. Spells specifically defined as "Magic Missiles",
for instance, cannot be cast while the Wizard or his unit is engaged in
close combat, and some other spells explicitly cover this situation in
their description. Further, a spell cannot be cast at a unit in close
combat unless its description explicitly allows it to do so and many spells
require line of sight. These factors, taken together, generally restrict
the available targets for the Wizard's spells.
Note however, that nowhere in the rules does it state that the act of being
engaged in close combat blocks line of sight.....only models and terrain
block line of sight. This means that in instances where a Wizard's line
of sight is not entirely blocked by other models, the Wizard may still be
able to draw line of sight to potential targets. This also means that
Wizards who are riding on Large Targets or whom are Large Targets by nature
may still be able to draw line of sight to potential targets, even if
their frontage is fully occupied by enemy models (who are not also Large
S. Rulebook pages 59, 135, 136, 142 / Direwolf FAQ Council Interpretation
thank you all for your comments. This clears up my questions
Actually, the guy from Games Workshop wasn't wrong, because he told me spells could be cast while I was in close combat, unless the spell stated otherwise.Originally Posted by DavidVC04
I assumed he had it backwards, because Hand of Dust says it can be cast even in close combat.
But your response, along with strewart's, summed up why Hand of Dust would say "can even be cast while in close combat" even if most spell casting can be done while in close combat.
Warhammer Fantasy: Vampire Counts | Wood Elves | Chaos
While its dangerous to try and decode what some of these encrypted sentances the GW team has spit out there over the years, I mostly belive what they meant to say by including that in hand of dust would be that you can use its effect in the same round you cast it.