Welcome to Librarium Online!
hi, havent played my VC for a long time (i have been playing 40k alot lately) but just recently i red my armybook for the x time and i came to notice something.
(please excuse if i have the wrong unit names, i have a german copy)
well, you all know you can equip your mounted grave guard to have a 2+ save (5+ for heavy armour, +1 for shield, +1 for mounted, +1 armour on dead horse)
now, i wondered if they would have a 1+ save in the second round of close combat. they are after all equipted with hand weapons which they use after their charge. the lances only give their +2 S bonus in the first round and i consider the guard to throw them away and use hand weapons to fight in the second round.
now it says in the rules that models with handweapon and shield get an extra +1 to their armour save in cc, so that would be 1+ wouldn't it.
or maybe i just got too excited and forgot that there is another rule forbidding that.....
The HW/shield bonus only applies to models on foot.
The Hierarchy Chaotica: Kinky Sex > Change > Disease > Blood
98% of the population actually believes these stupid statistics. If you're part of the 2% of humanity with a brain, put this in your profile.
As far as I know you must use the same weapon during the entire combat, until either sides breaks or is wiped out. As for the rule for hw+shield, only models on foot get that bonus.
Lets break it down:
1. HW and Shield is ONLY for infantry
2. you must choose ONE set of weapons for the WHOLE combat. Therefore you cannot use a lance and a handweapon and a shield. nor can you change to hand weapons in the next round of combat!
3. the mounted grave guard is called Black knights in the english ed.
Have a nice day.
-lurking in the shadows of LO.
Officially diagnosed by TekoreMelkhior, Necrarch Lord
well, then i got too excited after all (kinda knew it). thanks for clarifying