invocation on self - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Age
    32
    Posts
    16
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    invocation on self

    i tried to search this but i couldn't find it. i know you can use invocation to heal other models and lond as they are within range, but can you use this spell to heal yourself?

    i know it says to declare target model so i'm assuming that you can't really target yourself.

    thanks guys


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Senior Member Darkeagle8k's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Leeds
    Posts
    290
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    -21 (x0)

    Sure you can target yourself . Its any model with multiple wounds within range (assuming its an undead model). Otherwise IoN wouldnt be that good.

    -DE
    "The anatomy of your brain is more than your mind can handle. What?"

    Current Armies

    Vampire Counts - 3500 Points

    Orcs And Goblins - 2000 Points

  4. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    142
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    7 (x1)

    Hmm, I'm not that sure on that one. I've always played it that one cannot. As it isn't clearly stated you can, like with Hand of Dust.

    Yours

  5. #4
    Son of LO MouseC112's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    2,059
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    106 (x6)

    nehek

    If it says declare target you can't target yourself. Basically its "any models within..." And it doesn't site you can actually cast on yourself so most likely you can't. You could however use another caster to do this, as most of your caster will probably have it, its not a restrictive spell. Probably one of the best spells in the game due to options you can do.

    EDIT: check the FAQ no references to being able to do it so RAW appears to say no.
    Last edited by MouseC112; July 13th, 2007 at 16:11. Reason: additional info
    40K-Beakies(9-14-4),Guard(4-7-2),Orks(34-12-11). FANTASY-Dwarves(15-6-7),Beasts (14-14-1), Skaven (17-17-10) DoC (6-1-2). CYGNAR (28-15-1)

  6. #5
    LO's unofficial Jester Visitor Q's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Vault 13
    Age
    31
    Posts
    2,900
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    377 (x8)

    I believe you can. In a WD Mike Walker gives tactics on how to cast Necromantic magic and mentions that his Count will cast IoN on himself. While this isn't absolutly authority the fact that it got published should be persuasive authority.

    Generally I play the rule if it doesn't say you can't you can.

    This is added to the fact that there is nothing in the fluff that suggests this would be 'silly'.
    "God is dead" Nietzsche- 1886
    "Nietzsche is dead" God- 1900

    Why are there scams? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q71FLDIMBc8

  7. #6
    Member Pazuriel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Oslo, Norway
    Posts
    105
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    6 (x1)

    As it includes undead within range, I would say it also includes the caster. As with other details not clearly stated in the books, ask your opponent before the game, or apply your interpretation as a house rule.

    -Paz
    Rork edit: Woah! Check your spelling - you only give "special chocies" to your girlfriend.

  8. #7
    Member farmerralph's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Leeds
    Posts
    199
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    -2 (x0)

    I have always played it as you can target self, as have all the other vamp players i know. The character will be a multi wound undead model and there really isnt likely to be a problem with range... I dont see why not
    Everyone makes mistakes. mine was to leave her head in the fridge.

  9. #8
    Senior Member Nell2ThaIzzay's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Age
    33
    Posts
    271
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    19 (x1)

    Quote Originally Posted by farmerralph View Post
    and there really isnt likely to be a problem with range...
    I dunno, them Necros sure have a habit of being 19" away from their own bodies... :p

    Anyways, really horrible jokes aside, I have always played that wizards CAN heal themselves. Hand of Dust specifically states that it can be cast on himself, because it can ONLY be cast on himself. The wizard cannot cast the spell on another character. However, the wording for Invocation of Nehek simply states to choose one undead model, and then measure range. There is nothing even remotley indicating that the wizard could not choose himself.
    Warhammer Fantasy: Vampire Counts | Wood Elves | Chaos

  10. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Age
    32
    Posts
    16
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    well the reason i asked this was because it says to "declare target model". to me that sounds like choosing someone other than yourself.

    but at the same time the whole point of necromancy is to try and live forever so it makes sense to heal yourself so you can live as long as you can.

    i just wanted to clarify the rule because like some other rules, it's one of those passages that i can over and over and still be unclear as to what the writers meant when they wrote it.

    but i think i will start using it on my self. thanks guys.

  11. #10
    /botnobot/ DavidWC09's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Wayward, Texas
    Posts
    12,489
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    1283 (x8)

    In my nearly 3 years of playing Vampires, I've never even heard it questioned, by GW staff or players or anybody for that matter. As the rules state, any model with multiple wounds on its profile, which would include the caster.
    Painting Videos--My Warriors of Chaos--WHFB Tactica Index
    *************************************************

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts