The Burning Head - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Member Dreadlock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Oly, WA
    Age
    27
    Posts
    138
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    35 (x1)

    The Burning Head

    Ok, I was playing against Vampire Counts today and my unit of Cold Ones got stuck in against a unit of 48 Zombies, 8 Wide, 6 Deep. My Slann took the Lore of Fire and I decided to move my Slann to the flank of the Zombies and cast Burning Head down, row wise, collecting a total of 8 hits. Now, this made it 10x easier to fight them off. I got serious arguments from the VC player saying I couldn't do this. We settled on the fact that it says it goes in a straight line from the caster without an intended target and therefore legal. But what would everyone else say so I can better myself as to not cheat my opponent, or better yet, have the ability to blast a rank a turn


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Montgomery, Illinois
    Age
    41
    Posts
    764
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    80 (x2)

    This probably belongs in the Rules Help section. As to your question, I don't see what your opponent is complaining about. The spell is pretty clear: start at caster, spell goes in a straight line away from caster, hits everything in its path. What is he saying is illegal?

    Edit: Just reread the post. He is saying that you can't cast that spell into close combat right? I think he may have a point as spells that can be cast into CC will say that in the description. Ignore that first part of the post, lol.
    Last edited by NecroNid; April 10th, 2009 at 19:46.

  4. #3
    Senior Member wilddragon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Saskatoon
    Age
    30
    Posts
    485
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    50 (x1)

    Wow that is pretty awesome lol, the smell of burning zombie flesh.
    "To Triumph without Risk, is to Conquer without Glory!"

  5. #4
    Member Zeuy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Age
    28
    Posts
    115
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    2 (x1)

    This is one of those questions I've seen asked on tons of forums, and the answers always seem to vary. What are the rulings for various tournaments such as the UK Nationals or even just tiny local ones?

  6. #5
    i am da Wahhchief Digger's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    utrecht, Holland
    Age
    35
    Posts
    2,419
    Mentioned
    19 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    320 (x8)

    humm lets see


    "Wizards cannot cast spells at units engaged in close combat, unless the spell only affects the caster himself, or the spell's description specifies otherwise"

    The spells description only says it shoots
    "in a straight direct path(any direction chosen by the controlling player)"




    1) i would say choosing a line through the unit in combat IS shooting at a unit in combat. (which would be an illegal direction)
    2) this spell needs a faq update heheh

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts