Librarium Online Forums banner

deciding on what army to play

746 views 3 replies 4 participants last post by  Marnepup 
#1 ·
Im fairly new to fantasy, I've played a small dark elf force for a little and liked the whole system. but now I want to get more into the game and start fresh with a new army.

I want to start either wood elves, vampire counts, bretonians or start a new dark elf army

anything that would help me make my choice easier would be helpful

#2 ·
I am sure you have heard about the mega-changes coming with 8th edition and many reasons to wait until we see what will happen to the individual armies. Most of the rumours have been (somewhat) confirmed, so you can get a pretty good idea. Supposedly, there will be errata sheets for each army to fine tune them a bit for the new rules until they make the actual changes to the army books.

However, I play armies that I enjoy building and painting - not merely because they are the most powerful army at the moment. I have the good fortune of 3 sons that all play, so with 2 armies for all of us, and me being the main painter/artist, I have put together and played many! Although the new changes may alter some of the present advantages with some armies, here is my basic take on your named choices:

Dark Elves - These guys are pretty powerful now and always a fairly good contender. They have so many tricks up their sleeve with special choices. The dark elves are a pretty safe bet to remain a good army after the changes. I also think the cold ones cavalry are an awesome sight. Their crossbows are deadly and spear ranks may have gotten a huge boost. Some people think some of the changes will hurt, but I think they make these guys stronger rather than weaker.