Librarium Online Forums banner

WE, VC, or Ogres

706 views 5 replies 4 participants last post by  DavidWC09 
#1 ·
Hey guys, im new to warhammer and was wondering what army i should start. I was thinking Ogres, Wood Elves, or Vampires. If you guys could give me your opinions on the pros and cons of those armies. I was looking for an army good against Orcs and Druchii.

#3 ·
Dude, you have come to the right place. I have three complete armies. In chronological order, they are Vampire Counts, Wood Elves, and Ogre Kingdoms.

VC are unbreakable, which is a huge advantage in combat. If you play the army right, you can suffer the attending deficit without much trouble. Instead of taking break tests, you'll just lose models, and what's a couple of zombies to a vampire lord anyway? He'll just raise more.

Plus, they all cause fear. A huge advantage. They have a terrific chance of winning combat and running down the enemy if you can swing the fight your way.

They have good infantry and special units, but their statistics are low, especially WS. Most undead are slow to react and hit easily in combat.

Vampires on the other hand kick ass. They are incredibly fast, strong, and powerful. Plus, they use magic. Very few lord level characters excel in both magic and combat; however, most vampires can't wear armor. So you'll rely on talismans to keep your vamp alive.

There's no shooting whatsoever. And no real monsters (ogre-sized units).

WEs are a lot of fun. They are low toughness and expensive. A basic archer costs two zombies or 1 one and a half skeletons. They have little armor.

Shooting is superior as glade guard take fewer penalties, ignore wooded terrain, and have improved strength at short range.

Forest Spirits are nasty units that pack a wallop. Dryads are one of the best bargains in the game, even though they cost more than ten points a model. Treemen are brutal beasts of the forest.