Ok, I am new to Chaos (have been into the game for several years though but mainly WH40K) and have yet to buy my first Chaos models. I have a couple of ideas for how my army should be though:

1. It should be interesting to play

2. It should not be too horribly expensive money-wise

3. It should be at least slightly thematic or fluffy, but the most important thing is that it should look cool on the table. Hence the Dragon Ogres.

4. It should be quite competative and take-most-comers

So, basically, I'm looking for the perfect army!

One idea that I have is to make a heavily Slaanesh-themed army using Fear itself as a weapon. This army would include sorcerers using Slaanesh magic and a lot of Fear-causing units such as Chaos Knights, Dragon Ogres and Trolls etc.

I would be very thankful if you can tell me which unit configurations (weapons, wargear, model count, formations etc) are regarded as awesome and which that are regarded as crap. Please comment on this!

Here is a rough sketch:

Lord choice:

Sorcerer Lord or Chaos Lord, 300-350 pts
Not really sure here. Points should come in around 300 pts for a Lord and a bit more for a Sorcerer Lord. Keeping with the theme, I'm thinking about giving the Lord that poisoned magic hammer which makes the wielder cause Terror once he's killed something in combat. And diabolic splendor and so on. The Sorcerer Lord would have the Mark of Slaanesh probably, or I might leave those magics for the lesser Wizards and have him use the Lore of Death. Otherwise I have problems deciding on Wargear, there is simply too much to choose from! This is something I really need help with!

Hero choices:

EVENTUALLY: Exalted hero with battle standard 180-230 pts