Mounted heroes leading infantry? - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Member Morthul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Age
    35
    Posts
    57
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    2 (x1)

    Mounted heroes leading infantry?

    Hey everyone!

    I have seen some O&G armies using Orc bosses, mounted on boars, leading Orc infantry.

    I guess the bonus of this is getting and improved armour save, and an extra long charge range for your boss..

    So I was wondering if anyone uses mounted Mortal heroes leading warrior or marauder regiments?

    If no, why not?

    If yes.. how did it go?

    If there's any obvious reasons why not to do it with the latest edition of WFB. Then I'm blind to them.

    Hope to hear some oppinions..

    Regards!


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Master of the Crab Women swntzu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    In yo' face!
    Age
    28
    Posts
    1,007
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    97 (x3)

    Quote Originally Posted by Morthul View Post
    Hey everyone!

    I have seen some O&G armies using Orc bosses, mounted on boars, leading Orc infantry.

    I guess the bonus of this is getting and improved armour save, and an extra long charge range for your boss..

    So I was wondering if anyone uses mounted Mortal heroes leading warrior or marauder regiments?

    If no, why not?

    If yes.. how did it go?

    If there's any obvious reasons why not to do it with the latest edition of WFB. Then I'm blind to them.

    Hope to hear some oppinions..

    Regards!
    I think they can be picked out and shot at due to the size difference in models. I don't see that much point in it due to this added vulnerability.

    One way this has been utilised is to have a orc on a boar babysit a unit of trolls. That seems to be fairly common.
    Watch this before posting:
    Posting and You

  4. #3
    Member Morthul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Age
    35
    Posts
    57
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    2 (x1)

    I don't think he can. Since he has a unit strenght below 5.. Please correct me if I'm wrong. I may have read the rule change in the latest edition wrong or just suffer from bad memory..

  5. #4
    Master of the Crab Women swntzu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    In yo' face!
    Age
    28
    Posts
    1,007
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    97 (x3)

    Quote Originally Posted by Morthul View Post
    I don't think he can. Since he has a unit strenght below 5.. Please correct me if I'm wrong. I may have read the rule change in the latest edition wrong or just suffer from bad memory..
    I just checked and you're right. I'm sure you could pick him out in the 6th ed.

    Anyway, in that case it's perfectly reasonable to do it although it might look a bit weird.
    Watch this before posting:
    Posting and You

  6. #5
    Bearded Ninja Arklite's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Edinburgh
    Age
    27
    Posts
    2,678
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    451 (x8)

    the real question here... is how does he work into rank bonus?

    i mean, he takes up 2 spaces as it were, interupting the rank directly behind the first. does that unit get the +1 for that rank? or is it every complete rank AFTER that one.


    spambot kill tally: 79


    [16:19] <@Alzer> Arky's right though
    [16:20] <@Kaiser-> I know he is.
    [16:20] <@Kaiser-> He usually is.
    [16:20] <@Kaiser-> Sometimes it's intentional.
    ----
    [00:01] <+zubus> i love you, ya skirt wearin nothern monkey! ^_^

  7. #6
    LO Zealot
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    2,610
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    160 (x7)

    unit strength 2 so he takes up 2 slots of the foot soldier. Horses rear end counts as a foot soldier. so . . . .

    x x x x O
    x x x x O
    x x x x x
    x x x x x
    x x x

    +3 rank bonus, 4 full ranks plus 3 extra.

  8. #7
    Member Morthul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Age
    35
    Posts
    57
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    2 (x1)

    ok, cheers

    I agree it might look weird and I'm also quite sure he could be picked out in 6th ed.

    Did anyone ever use this setup? It seems to me O&G uses it often for competitive play.

    And thanks for the diagram Buckero.

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts