Welcome to Librarium Online!
Hey all, I wanted to get an idea of what bases I should be using for some of the new mounts that I would want to take.
I got the spearhead, so I have those for the jugg and the daemonic mount. I am wondering what to use for the Disk of Tzeentch, the Steed of Slannesh, and the Palanquin of Nurgle?
Also, can any of these mounts join units? The Jugg and Daem Mount, at least, come on some pretty large bases. Can they be stuck in an infantry unit? or knights?
The Disk is flying, so I know that can't join units.
The Steed has the fast cavalry rule, so it only seems right that it should be able to join a unit of fast cav and make full use of that.
I think that the Jugg, Palanquin and Daemonic mount are 50 x 50 mm, while the steed of slannesh is a normal cavalry base. Disk might be 40 x 40, but dont quote me on that!
Bar the disk, they can all be put in units, but remember that a unit always movs at the speed of the slowest!
And yes, the SoS can join a FCav unit and still use the benefits IIRC
Herald of the Colonel; Festooned with pistols, riddled with vermin, and finger lickin' good...
The Jugg, Palanquin and Daemonic mount are definately on a 50 x 50 mm base, and I'm not sure on the disk either. I'm not sure on the steed since it should be on a 25 x 50 mm base, but the model comes on a 50 x 50 mm base and isn't there that rule that you should play with the base it comes with?
And BTW the only benefit fast cav on a character gives is a 360 LoS for shooting attacks like bloodcurling roar, since characters in a fast cav unit move the same way even if they don't have the rule.
Really? I'll have to look that up to verify, but I thought that if your hero didn't have the fast cav rule, then the unit would lose fast cav. This means that you could put a juggernaut lord into a fast cav unit and give him look out sir and a huge amount of extra maneuvaribility. Something makes me want to not believe that.
P70, BRB, direct quote, 'Mounted character models may join fast cavalry units and move in the same manner as the unit, but do not benefit from any of the special shooting rules.'
Hope that helped.
Wow... sounds like Juggernaut fast cav could be absolutely devastating, unless I am missing something about the jugg not being able to join a unit or something like that, which I probably am.
Anyways, spot on, thanks for the lookup, very helpful.
Last edited by Sangren; October 24th, 2008 at 18:52. Reason: can't rep, already did recently!
Don't worry about it. I don't think you are missing anything, the only problem is that frenzy stops a lot of the manoeverability. (and don't worry, you can rep me whenever you want )
My point was more that the maneuverability would stop the frenzy. As people were talking about in another thread, you can point the horsies away at the end of your move whenever you want, negating LoS. Whenever you wanted you could turn around and unleash the juggernaut.
Of course, then you are limiting your maneuverability in the fact that you are less likely to bait and flee and such, and you are putting a lot of eggs in that basket.
Just keep in mind too with the 50mm by 50 mm for palequins or juggernauts is that they only count as a cavalry base 25mm by 50mm (or backwards - either way). Found that one out the hard way when I put a Khorne herald on Juggernaut in a unit of bloodletters. Even though it covers 4 model spots in a unit, you still have to have another guy in the rank to make up your base 5 models wide. Weirdly enough, it ends up with a 6 wide unit that only counts as 5 wide.
If you mount him on a 50 x 50, does that mean that even though four Dryads would have frontage on him, your WE opponent only gets three? What if you put your lord on daemon right in the middle of your front rank of Chaos Knights? Does that mean their is an imaginary gap between him and either the guy on his right or the guy on his left?
After typing this out, I just now decided that I will put him on a 25 x 50 base, unless somebody tells me that that is dead wrong.