Welcome to Librarium Online!
Saw this on other forums and thought we could talk about it here as well. If I were to take my lord/exalted of tzeentch and give him the Book of Secrets dose he gain the +1 to cast. It seems to me that it would because they are generating power dice just no dispell dice, they have to roll for there spells randomly, and they can suffer from miscast same as any other wizard. The other argument is that by taking the book because it dose not say they are counted as a wizard then they wouldn't gain the +1. Any thoughts on this or are we going to have to wait for the FAQ to clear things up for sure.
No, he doesn't get the +1. While he is casting spells, it doesn't make him a wizard, just as how you don't need to be a wizard to use a bound spell. If he were made a wizard, it would mean the character would be able to pull dice from the common casting pool, thus meaning you might actually chance having a combat character casting the highest ranking spells.
That would have been cool, but a bit much
The definition of 'Wizard' in the book is 'able to cast at least one spell' The book gives you a spell, so it makes you a wizard, which makes you a sorcerer, which gives you the +1 to cast.
Yes, it is badass.
Trust in your core choices - love them, hate them, wish them dead to clear charges, but remember that come end they will pull off a miracle for you.
Ravernn is correct. And another thing, since you are now considered a sorcerer/wizard, you can take arcane items. Nobody suspects an exalted hero to be carrying a dispel scroll. Sure, he could be carrying other stuff, but it's a pretty good surprise.
Excuse me, but did anyone else's nonsense detetector go crazy just then?
There I was minding my own business, browsing the threads, when suddenly my nonsense detector went haywire, LEDs flashing, whirly thing whirling the whole shibang!
I took a look and I think it may have been the last two posts. There something about them that seems, well, you know, wrong.
Being a terrible nerd I have the book with me at this moment. I think the Forum rules allow me to state that the Book of Secrets is an enchanted item. Which means that it can be given to anyone, except those characters excluded specifically in the item rules. Which of course, all being Army Book owners, you know who they are.
The item makes no reference to the character becoming a wizard, although certain rules that apply to wizards are brought in to play by the item. I think that's important. It would be far easier, if GW intended to make your character turn into a wizard to say in the first line. "Characters carrying the book of secrets become Level1 Wizards with access to the Lore of Amazingness"
That doesn't appear. RAW and IMO RAI is as follows.
Character gains x number of spells from the lore of w, x, y or z, players choice of lore.
Character generates x number of additional power dice.
Character generates x number of additional dispel dice.
If character miscasts any spell, including any spells known normally, roll x+y instead of 2d6 on the miscast table.
Character may not take arcane items unless already able to do so.
Character is not restricted in use of armour like normal wizards.
If character is already a wizard normal spellcasting abilities and bonuses apply to spells known through the book of secrets.
So I think that's a big NO, to Lords and Exalted champions with familiars and scrolls. But I think things like the the advatages conferred by the Skull of Katam and Mark of Tzeentch would be useable if you are already a wizard. The problem you are going to face is the great likelihood that your wizard will detonate if he miscasts...
I agree with Zarahemna's break down on this item, but do have one question. If you take it on a non-wizard, that character generates one power dice for himself, but is he also allowed to use the two power dice generated for all wizards to use?
To be honest it sounds as though the item was intended at first to be Arcana.
But in response to your question. I don't know. I don't think it is really very clear. I would be inclined to treat the model as a Lvl1 Wizard for all intents and purposes of the magic phase. But I may be wrong.
If the item made a non-wizard model a wizard, wouldn't of it have said that in the item description?
Sometimes it's better to take these parts of the rules literal, even if some are more absurd than others. *sigh*
DA GREAT SPACE KARNIVAL (40K ORKZ) W47-D20-L31
Me an' da ladz 'ave been lootin', fightin' an' winnin' since before you were a grot, ya panzy! WAAAGH!