Librarium Online Forums banner

Cheap guy who likes Halberds

755 views 10 replies 9 participants last post by  Lord Borak 
#1 ·
Hey I have two units of warriors with shields and hand weapons on them. due to lack of funds is it possible to count them as having halberds too. I don't want to buy two more units and halberd spru peices. I personally don't see why not because it would be hard modeling three weapons on a model. Is this an issue that will just vary with who I play against and the place I play at? And I am new to fantasy so don't hammer on me if this is an obvious no answer.

#2 ·
everything is possible, just make sure you let your opponent know befor the battle.
If you where playing me, I wouldn't make a fuss about it.
Allthough you might get into trouble at tournements or when you're playing a WYSIWYG* puritain.

Generaly speaking in-game wise, all models count as having a handweapons on them at all times even though you cannot see it on the model. So you would only need to replace the handweapon arm with a halberd arm, and you good to go.

*WYSIWYG = What You See Is What You Get.

#3 ·
Yeah, Maximus-Prime is correct here. People are generally OK with minor weapons proxies (like a HW and shield counting as a Halberd). If you start counting them as DoW Pikemen, on the other hand...

Just as long as your opponent knows before the game who's carrying what, then everything should be fine. Fluffwise, you could call it a unique fighting style that utilises shields and swords in a creative way.

#4 ·
Yeh, it totally depends on the environment. In most friendly pick-up games, the majority of players fine with pretty much anything proxie, so long as you tell them what the models "count as". In a tourney though, you might catch some flak, as the majority of tournaments I've taken part in a fairly strict with WYSIWIG, at least when it comes to weapons and shields.

#5 ·