Welcome to Librarium Online!
Hey guys, ok have a bit of a situation that I think may need to wait for a FAQ to clear up...
If Pandemonium is in play, and a character riding a monstrous mount (was an old blood on a carnasour) is fleeing, when they attempt to rally, are they allowed to use the Old-bloods (a character) leadership in order to rally or would you use the mounts? I know it seems obvious that you'd use the characters to rally since it's his mount, however it specifically says you cannot use the characters leadership in the spell description.
My opponent was gracious and we played it out that he had to rally using the carnasours leadership, but I think that's wrong, what would be the correct way and what reasoning is there behind it?
Chaos Warriors (2009) 16-4-9
I think you are right, it probably can use the character's Ld to rally. I think the rule is intended for army generals and characters that have joined units/champions. In our case, it's a rider and its mount. The BRB states that the rider and its mount count as a single model, and, in this case, the rider's Ld prevails (just as for regular cavalry).
All in all, it's the same situation as if the characters was on foot and used his own Ld to rally!
"How do you stop a Chaos Knight from charging? No seriously, HELP!" André le Bouffon, jester of the Bretonnian court - last words.
Yeah, I'd have to agree with that. A mount always uses his rider's leadership, its just a coincidence that it was also the general.
US Master's Midwest Advisor.
Come join me at my GT this September www.brewfestgt.com
Yeah, the spell only states that enemy models may not use their character's leadership. It doesn't say anything that would restrict a model from using his OWN leadership. Since all leadership tests (stupidity, etc.) are made using the rider's leadership in the case of mounted units, and since the character was still mounted, the test should have been made using the character's leadership. He was only trying to rally himself, the carnosaur was just along for the ride so to speak.