Welcome to Librarium Online!
so this may have been covered already, or may actually be against some rule i'm not aware of but has anyone else been putting warshrines inside their units?
The book says they work like monsters, and so would be able to join units in the same way carnisaurs and other non-flying monsters can. The best thing as since they are only unit strength 4 they can't be targeted while in a unit (as the rule book states unit strength 5 or greater can be)
To top it all off it fills the space of 6 troops (making it easier to get ranks for warriors) as well as gives you a good number of attacks for the frontage of two models.
I have been running a unit of 13 warriors with shields and the mark of slaanesh, and the rapturous banner with the warshrine and my scroll caddie in there . This in effect makes 4 ranks of 5 and saves you the 10 points of giving the warshrine the mark of slaanesh as it would benefit from the units mark (technically the same way characters joining units that are immune to psychology)
So now i eagerly await one of three kind of posts
1. Someone responding with a rule i didn't know that makes this tactic invalid.
2. Someone responds with a post that says "way to be on the ball with something discovered and discussed months ago"
3. I get a few responses from people with their jaws on their laps saying "you cheeky bugger i have go to try that"
so what's it gonna be ? lol
I'm afraid that this post is going to be a number one, a monster needs to have a rider before it can join a unit.
A shame, this would have been quite cool.
oh well back to the evil scheming drawing board
Nice try though. I would have fallen in the third category :p
I think it goes something like this.
You calculate a rank, by checking (left to right wise) is it is unit str 5 or higher. If its 5 or higher you can count it as a rank.
With the Shrine, its not like its a cavalry mount (2 models deep, and unit str 2 = no problem)
The shrine has unit str 4 and is 6 models large, making it a problem, math wise. Per infantry model size, it has unit str 0.67. taking up more space than returning in unit str.
The unit would have to 6 wide (in total) to make this legal (on this point at least).
4 regular models + shrine = unit str 5 in each rank. But 6 "models" wide.
damn, that took me long to figure out how to write it.
hope it helps.
Ha, I see it was all for nothing
Damn, im a bit disapointed you cant chuck one in a unit as well, that would have been very cool.
Although potential for abuse would be quite likely, you could literally have a unit of Warshrines - (3 Warshrines in a unit of warriors, just have all 3 making up the front rank and the warriors stacked up behind, hell, you could even just put marauders behind to make up combat res and have an AWESOME unit )
There is no such thing as unit strength in 8th edition.
Well, you did necro this thread..
It was originally posted March 25th, 2009
Maybe moving on then for 8th edition - can warshrines go inside units as there is no US anymore?
It would be fluffy? (think skaven with their bell!)
Warshrine is classified as a monster in the BRB.
So no, they can't.
But I suppose it could be fluffy for the worshippers to bring some approval to their god onto the battlefield.