Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Had a question that came up tonight in a discussion and was curious how others would handle it.
Here is the situation:
Lets say your opponent has a unit of 7 Cavalry, 1 of which is a mounted Battle Standard Bearer, with a banner that adds combat resolution.
here is what the formation looks like (B = battle standard bearer, K = knight):
Lets say you have a unit of 4 Chaos Knights (yeah, one died to shooting), no champion.
Now, assume the 4 Chaos Knights charged the Unit of 7 knights and BSB. The BSB is on the very end.
You are supposed to align models to maximize frontage, does that mean that your chaos knights can only get 1 model in base to base contact with the Battle Standard Bearer?
looking something like this (crappily):
_\ _ l l l l _ /
if so, does that mean that taking a wide frontage unit and sticking a hero at the end can mean only 1 model can attack them?
is there any way you can choose to maximize your attacks against a specific hero in the other unit (which in this case would be 3 models) even though the troops don't line up this way?
conversely, if the Knights with the BSB charged my chaos knights, could they leave their BSB "out" of combat, still maximize frontage against me and still gain all the affects of their BSB being in the front row?
one would think a mighty "hero" would have to fight if he is in the front row and there is combat going on, but maybe not?
thanks in advance
Last edited by chaosmaddie; March 26th, 2009 at 06:29. Reason: blank spaces made the crappy diagram more crappy
Unfortunately, your Chaos Knights are out of luck.
Yes, you have to be in base contact with the BSB to be able to allocate attacks against it, so if you charge his unit, you will only have 1 model in base contact with him since you will also so have to maximize the number of models that are fighting.
And, yes, even if his BSB is not in base contact, since he’s in the front row, the bonuses for his Standard will count.
At least you chopped the rest of his unit to pieces with your almighty Chaos Knights.
"How do you stop a Chaos Knight from charging? No seriously, HELP!" André le Bouffon, jester of the Bretonnian court - last words.
guess those are the rules
seems kinda cheesy, but oh well
thanks for the quick reply and have some +rep!
Coorran is correct. I would just like to point out that when you charge, you could also leave the BSB out of combat so it wouldn't get its attacks either, though its banner would still count towards combat resolution.
I am right 94% of the time, why worry about the other 3%.
If you had your own hero, you could challenge the BSB to make sure it gets into combat, which is harder if they have a champion of their own as well.
Otherwise, its a pretty good way to keep out of combat, but there are disadvantages to having too much frontage as well.
If the BSB is not in combat, it cannot accept the challange. You have to be in combat to accept a challange, Thems the rules.