Question regarding familiars - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    D34
    D34 is offline
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    16
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Question regarding familiars

    I've never gotten this straight. Familiars are in the magic items section, so I'd think you could only have one of each type per army. But I've seen lists with multiple sorcerers using the same familiars. Is this legal?


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    206
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    17 (x1)

    Yeah only one right...

    It's a magic item...(and not a power stone or scroll).


  4. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    59
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    11 (x1)

    People break the magic items rules all the time, just look in the army list section, a lot of people give heroes 2 magic armours or give multiple duplicate magic banners (I saw one recently where the guy had 4 banners of wrath).

  5. #4
    D34
    D34 is offline
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    16
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Is it something people don't mind then?

  6. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    33
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    LOL, Scenario time. Orcs and gobbos have a banner that gives them a rank bonus amount of dispel dice, if they gave it to all there units they would have 12-18 dispel dice at 2000 points. which is ridiculous...

    Do not take duplicates of an item.

  7. #6
    Member Benjatorix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Age
    22
    Posts
    80
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    22 (x1)

    If you don't mind I have a follow-up question.

    Many people here have uses the power familiar on a support sorcerer, and gives the power dice to a lvl 4 sorc. THe item description is stated like this: "The familiar adds one power dice to its owner's pool during each friendly Magic phase." It sounds like it adds a power dice to it's OWNERs pool during each phase. To me it seems rather strange (fluff-wise and game-wise) that it adds a die to the main power dice pool.

    But maybe I'm wrong?

  8. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    206
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    17 (x1)

    It adds to the owners power dice not the shared dice pool. It's very clear in the description.

    It is a common mistake to take duplicates of magic items...however the rulebook is very clear and it's not that hard a rule to follow...


  9. #8
    Lord Admiral kithre's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Iver Heath
    Age
    39
    Posts
    2,608
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    220 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by lemontron View Post
    It adds to the owners power dice not the shared dice pool. It's very clear in the description.

    It is a common mistake to take duplicates of magic items...however the rulebook is very clear and it's not that hard a rule to follow...
    Agreed 100% here - no excuses for having multiples of teh same magic items. Maybe if you had a special scenario where they "broke out the swords of might" or something similar then thats a different question, but otherwise its actually one of the easier army list constructors to bear in mind. i suppose it was easier when we had battle magic and there you only ever had one card for a particular magic item in the set, so you couldn't allocate the same magic item to multiple characters physcially(!)

  10. #9
    Senior Member Coorran's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Montreal
    Posts
    323
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    24 (x1)

    Quote Originally Posted by Archaom View Post
    If you don't mind I have a follow-up question.

    Many people here have uses the power familiar on a support sorcerer, and gives the power dice to a lvl 4 sorc. THe item description is stated like this: "The familiar adds one power dice to its owner's pool during each friendly Magic phase." It sounds like it adds a power dice to it's OWNERs pool during each phase. To me it seems rather strange (fluff-wise and game-wise) that it adds a die to the main power dice pool.

    But maybe I'm wrong?
    Its owner. The wording can be misleading. The familiar's owner is the sorcerer. Not the player who owns the models...

    It really add a dice to the pool of the sorcerer that paid the points for it.
    "How do you stop a Chaos Knight from charging? No seriously, HELP!" André le Bouffon, jester of the Bretonnian court - last words.

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts