Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Okay, so I'm a WE player, so I don't actually know too much about the warriors of Chaos.
My little brother bought their book, and using what little knowledge of the game I have (after having read the codex) I have been advising him.
An idea occurred to me as I lay napping.
Formation of Chosen Chaos Warriors. 3x3 or 4x3, I know it'd not get ranks. Champion with the MR2 Item, BSB with the Blasted Standard, Marked by Tzeench. Put a character in the unit that has the Stubborn in 6" banner.
Now here's the trick. As close as you can on both sides, put a Warshrine marked for tzeench. This lets you two more eye of the God's results on the Chosen. Now you have 4x blessed Chosen Chaos unit which a character that is stubborn with two stubborn monsters. The whole formation will be w/in 6" of the BSB and be stubborn + re-rolling. Also, you'd get alot of attacks, as the entire formation could be in base with the enemy. sure, no combat res. But, given the amount of attacks/ strength of the unit, the theory would be it'd not matter.
What do you all think?
the idea is sound but you would be hard pressed to find many gamers that would be willing to adopt such a formation. I believe that you have covered ur bases with weakness in this formation due to the use of two warshrines.
hey guys help me out here and join my LO DE army
http://morgrag's Recruitment Link
Where do you get the fourth one?Now you have 4x blessed Chosen Chaos unit
1st: being a chosen warror unit
2nd&3rd: both warshrines concentrating their efforts on one unit
4th: ? ... Or do you mean that the blasted standard and the banner of the gods simulate the "12"-result on the eyes of the gods table?
It ain't easy bein' green... :-)
I mean that the Chosen unit gets blessed by the Eye of the God's four times. I was under the impression they recieved two blessings, but, mayhaps it is only one.
So, very well. 3x blessed. My apologies, as I said, I'm not a chaos player; my little brother just bought the book and I thought the forum might be interested in this idea.
A warshrine will give a unit/model a free roll on the eye of the gods table however you can only gift a unit once, after the first time you simply overwrite the previous roll
You can gift it from a different source tho.
One from being Chosen, one from each shrine, can't you? I see no reason why this would not be the case. Other units can get multiple eye of the gods results, like characters, and chaos trolls.
A unit can be affected by multiple shrines. This chosen unit would get 3 buffs (1 from their special rule, and two from the shrines)
The unit cannot however get the same benefit twice. For example you cannot get +1 Strength twice on that same unit. If you do get a result that you already have you are allowed a reroll.
This should hopefully clear up the confusion.
Thank you! See, that's what I thought.
I didn't quite understand this formation you are suggesting.
Are you suggesting of putting the warshrines inside the Chosen unit? I am not sure that if that would be possible (please correct me if i am wrong but i don't think there is anything which prohibits it in the book) but if it is possible it wouldn't be such a bad idea.
Now since we are at it i might as well put up this question. If you fit a shrine in a unit would that unit benefit from ranks?
he is suggesting using the Warshrines as flank protection / buffers.
seems like a clever setup that could work and might prove very annoying for some units, watch out for artillery though.