Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I was talking to phfhrockq recently and we've got a question about ranks.
If I have a unit of ten Warriors, which also contains two mounted Characters, and they're lined up in a 7*2 formation, they have a rank bonus from the five-or-more models at the back of the unit.
What happens if one of the Warriors gets killed? There are now seven models in the front rank - the five Warriors and front halves of the two Characters - and six models in the back rank - the four Warriors and the back halves of the two Characters.
However, the mounted Characters have been counted for the purposes of the front rank; do they get counted again in the second rank, or is the second rank considered to only have four models in it, even if it's spread across six models?
I can see arguments for both sides; on the one hand, the mounted models have already been counted in the front rank and maybe should be counted again; on the other hand, in terms of actual models in the second rank there are six - and they would be counted as six in the case of a rear-charge.
Is there an official ruling on this? Or do people have an opinion, one way or another...?
if u have a caracter on mount ( horse ) hase unitstrenth 2 so u gett the rank bonus. and u will get the rank bounus even if u have a lord on demonic mount, it just counts as 4 normal models ( or 2 on horse ) its in the rulebook dont know the page (dont got the book whit me ) but i know its like this we hade this argument too =).
This has always been a question and I think it has been finally answered pretty easily in the new Lizardmen book (I know, I know, its a different book so how could it possibly apply!)
Anyways, the lizardmen have several circumstances where larger based models are added to smaller based models. Like a slann joining temple guard, or kroxigor joining skinks.
In the case of different sized bases within units GW said the the best way (and easiest way) to handle this issue was just to count the model on the larger base as the same number of models that would normally occupy that space when it comes to determining ranks.
So a character mounted on a steed would count as two models for rank and file purposes. It has nothing to do with unit strength because that would complicate issues.
You can find this on page 41 of the LM book and I don't see why it couldnt be applied elsewhere, since it only references a simple game occurence and not any LM specific rules.
Last edited by Phaeron Typhoon; August 9th, 2009 at 18:39.
"I am the architect of fate!"
From the second general warhammer faq1) Placing the character inside the unit. This
works best when the character’s base is larger than
those of the unit’s and is a multiple of them – for
example a model mounted on a 40mm square base
inside a unit of models with 20mm square bases, or
a character on a 50mm square base inside a unit of
models with 25mm square bases or a cavalry unit.
In these cases, the character will fit in snugly and
look and feel ‘right’. It will also displace a number
of models, which are placed in the rearmost rank as
When working out the unit’s rank bonus, the
character counts as the same number of models it
has displaced (normally four infantrymen or two
US Master's Midwest Advisor.
Come join me at my GT this September www.brewfestgt.com
Yes, thanks indeed.