Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I just wanted to share something with you guys:
I've been desperate to use a combat Lord to give my troops Ld9 on their Stubborn rerolls. I had it in my head that it would make all the difference.
I just did the maths quickly and realised that there's actually only a 5% difference in passing your Break Test between rerolling Stubborn Ld8 and rerolling Stubborn Ld9 (92.3% v. 97.2%). For 100 points of Character, I have to conclude it ain't worth it!
I just wanted to put this out there in case others, like, me, were looking at the Ld9 of a Lord and thinking it might be worth the extra points!
If you can get hold of Sigvald, your Stubborn reroll would pass the test 99.3% of the time. That seems rather tasty!
I just realised that I've misunderstood the mechanics of the game. Or, I think I have. Can someone confirm this for me, or tell me I'm talking bunkum?:
Troops who have the Stubborn special rule only benefit from an unmodified Leadership on their own Leadership. This means that, if a Stubborn unit of Marauders led by a Chaos Lord lose combat by 1 or 2 points, they can test on the Lord's Leadership (modified to either an 8 or a 7); but if they lose combat by 3 or more points, they have to take their Leadership test on their own unmodified Leadership stat of 7.
If this is the case, then it means running a Lord in a unit of Stubborn Marauders is actually a total waste of points. The Stubborn reroll actually only grants the Marauders an 82.6% chance of staying and fighting - points probably better spent elsewhere.
Can someone let me know if I'm reading the rules wrongly here, please? It'd be handy to know!
Ooh, but what if a unit of troops is being led by a Stubborn Character? Do they always test on his unmodified Leadership? If so, the Marauders/Lord/Banner of the Gods combination may still work....
You are correct on both accounts. If the unit is stubborn but the character is not, then you use the modified character's leadership or the units stubborn leadership, which ever is better.
If a character that is stubborn, like Sigvald, joins a unit, then that unit can use his leadership for their stubborn break tests. Look in the rule book under character psychology I think.
US Master's Midwest Advisor.
Come join me at my GT this September www.brewfestgt.com
i'm pretty sure that if the effect is worded "any units in range" like the Banner of the Gods is, then yes the character still gets the benefit.
Even though he is a character, he is still counted as part of a unit he has joined for effects like this.
Otherwise characters in units would be immune to spells like Curse of the Leper, or Curse of Years. Because people could argue that since he is a character he isn't really a part of the unit being targeted, he's just running along with them.
"I am the architect of fate!"
except that he is a character joined to a squad and therefore benefits from any psychology that they suffer from.
If anyone believes on telekinesis, raise my hand!!
Here's a quick question:
You have the BSB on a disc w the BotG, a unit of chosen with Sigvald in it, and a unit of marauders 6 inches from the Banner and within 12 of Sigvald.
The banner makes them stubborn on their own leadership, but they are within range of sigvald's leadership, which is also stubborn.
Can they use Stubborn 10 for leadership tests in this case?