Welcome to Librarium Online!
I have several questions after a recent tournament where i've had several rule issues related to chaos and instead of posting in the rules help forums i put them here, as not everyone has a WoC codex.
Question 1-When attacking a model with MoN you get -1 WS, however when attacking a model in base contact with a MoN model do they have -1 WS? The wording in the army book is unclear.
Question 2- Can one cast magnificent buboes while engaged in close combat on a model it can see? I've heard people say both ways.
Question 3- If one casts cloying quagmire on a model like a stegadon whose initiative and armour save does it use? The mounts, the best initiative, the worst initiative?
As far as I think it would be MoN only effects the enemy unit when it attacks, not when the MoN unit is attacking that unit.
As for Buboes i believe it could be cast while one is in combat, as you can cast it into a combat if you can see a character on the flank.
And finally for cloying quagmire i would say the mount's initiative and armour save however that may be because it would make quagmire a lot better.
Any clarifications would be greatly appreciated.
Question 1, The 2009 WoC Errata states that you only lose your WS if you target the one with the mark. If you swing on a Difrerently marked Model being commpanied by a nurgle, you roll normally
Question 2, Buboes is not stated too be a magic missle, so it can be cast while in combat but the spell does not state it can be cast against enemies in combat, so it cannot be cast on enemies fighting CC.
Question 3, is a odd one too answer but here goes, The Stegodan is a mounterous mount for all intents and purposes, that just happens too have more crew in it, reguardless of weither there is a skink char in it or not its treated as one model and for the Initiative test you would use the lowest vaule, which is the stegodans
if he fails (which is more than likely) he will then take a armor save, which varies somewhat depending on which kind of stegodan he took, 4 for norm and a 3 for ancient, and then if that is passed he gets dragged down, the crew are killed unless tehre is a character, who safly hops off. Stat wise this spell is actualy more dangerous against a ancient stegodan because they have a lower Int, and a higher armor vaule.
One could Argue that once the Skink Cheif/priest hops off he too would be in the quagmire and he too would take the test but Skinks are Aquatic which i would assume is the same as Amphibious making them immune too it anyway( they do live in marshes )
As for fighting other races i don't believe it does, its assumed the spell dragged down the monster and the ground hardeded too keep him down and the hero dusts himself off.
This mean that if he has WS5 it is brought down to 4 because he is in base contact.
So if you charge a unit of cold one knights with a unit of nurgle knights you would be hitting on a 3 and they will be hitting on a 4.
But if a second unit without MON is in cc and the enemy unit wants to target it, HE rolls normally.
Unfortunately the wording of the FAQ is really clear.
The rules as written in the army book are awesome and worth their cost, but the FAQ'd version makes very little sense to me. However, they are quite clear and so we are stuck with -1WS in only one direction and only when attacking the marked model.