Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
If you have a battle standard bearer with the banner of gods (Causes terror) in a unit of knights. will you always reroll the result of a 10 or 11 when you target that unit with the Shrine? The unit causes fear and a character in it causes terror?
Also, if you use a shrine on a unit and get a 2, Insanity (he has stupidity special rule for the rest of the game), but you use that same shrine in the next phase to target the same or another unit, will the insanity blessing be gone due to the chaos shrine rule of Giver of Glory (...In subsequent shooting phases the Warshrine may choose to roll again to get a more desirable result....If you choose this option it will negate the Warshrine's previously generated effects.)?
yes and yes
2010 WoC Cav W/L/D - 7/3/1
So, warshrines are pretty sweet then for the point economy... can really make some of our great units MIGHTY!!! I am especially glad to hear that I can get rid of the insanity after one turn if I get unlucky with all the rerolls going on. The one that I fear the second most is the plus one to armour save. I don't know about the rest of you but I always have to face Lore of Metal Spam!!! If it was not for that spell and repeater bolt throwers I would love my chaos army so much more. It just disturbs me how easily countered we are. I am considering making a list using naked marauder horse and light armour w shield marauders just to fug with my friends who always take metal against me.... of course, then I still have the repeater bolt throwers to rip me apart... <sigh>
Unfortunately, you can only target a unit with the warshrine's blessing, or a lone character if he is outside of a unit. If you roll a result of 10 while targeting the knights you will be allowed a re-roll as they already cause Fear. If you roll an 11 however, that result will stand and the knights will now cause Terror, regardless of whether or not they have been joined by a Terror-causing character. As a side note, if a character is joined to a unit when it receives a blessing from the shrine, and then leaves the unit in a subsequent turn, you may choose to leave that blessing on the unit or give it to the departing character.
Also the entry for Insanity specifically states that the effect lasts for the rest of the game, so if the knights are given a blessing and roll double ones and then are given another blessing in the following turn, they will benefit both from the newest blessing and still be affected by Stupidity.
I don't think so. The Rules for the Shrine tell us that if you give a blessing the previous blessing is lost. Its just poor book writing, but anything the shrine spits out WILL be removed next time it spits things out.
As far as the shrine goes, its ONLY downfall is being slow. But that's fine. I think its states are very nice for the cost and then you get the blessing too. I've had the blessing change games for me.
Also, while Dragon Ogres are probably the best thing to use with the Banner of the Gods, the Warshrine turns into a incredibly hard anvil when coupled with that banner.
US Master's Midwest Advisor.
Come join me at my GT this September www.brewfestgt.com