Welcome to Librarium Online!
I finnaly got my favorite model in the WoC armybook, the exalted on juggernaut. Now my only problem is, how do I use him? What do I kit him with, and how exactly do you screen him with hounds?
Last edited by dandaman; April 1st, 2010 at 17:53.
Maybe just an enchanted shield and sword of might. You don't want him to cost very much incase he gets baited. To screen him, place the hounds right in front of him; and center him to them. The dogs will get shot and killed most cases, so you want to be able to keep him screened for as long as possible.
2010 WoC Cav W/L/D - 7/3/1
Thanks alot, but what about when I want to charge turn 2, how do I go about charging with the hounds in front?
charge them with the hounds, then technically the Hero can see the combat and charge as well, and there will be nothing in his way because the hounds will charge first if you declare their charge first. This could be wrong though, i dont deal with frenzied units very often other than MHorsemen.
2010 WoC Cav W/L/D - 7/3/1
apparently Exalted on Khorne Jugger as a BSB is a great combination, you can have a very healthy 1+ armour save, give him the BotG in a footslogging force and place him behind a unit of chosen or Warriors and you should do fine. i've actually seen this combination used, the Opponent charged the BSB with a Wood Elf Highborn on Dragon and got his poop pushed in by the Exalted, theres not much that can break him.
Enchanted Shield, Flail, Armor of Morslieb. Put him in a unit of Nurgle marked Chaos Knights with a Banner of Rage and you have a very versatile striking force.
that makes me wonder.
If he's in a nurgle unit with the rage-banner and they lose, the banner says the unit never loses their frenzy.
Does this also count for the frenzy that the bsb allready had? (will it be frenzy if he leaves the unit after a loss)
"charge them with the hounds, then technically the Hero can see the combat and charge as well"
im affraid that is wrong as you mentioned.. frenzy charges are declared in the declare charges phase (start of movement). the normal chargers aremoved only after that in the move-chargers phase(end of movement)
Warchief Diggah o da Bloodmoon Squiggahs
Not sure if I'm understanding this right, but normal charges are declared first, then frenzy charges are measured and called, then you do all charge reactions (normal and frenzy) and move chargers from there.
That is how I have been playing it , but I assumed you used the hounds to predominantly cover the knights unit where they can see, but they can't make the charge due to being blocked by the hounds, but when you declare you charge with the hounds first to a different unit if possible, declare the frenzy charge after because they can see, move the hounds giving the knights a free movement charge and then all is good.
Just checked the rules, you declare charges, rally troops, declare frenzy charges,then move everything. So you can only charge what you see with frenzy, and the hounds don't move until after the the knights have declared the charge, but the knights can't charge what they can't see
Does that mean a frenzied fast cavalry unit could rally, reform and charge in the same movement phase?