Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I may be a bit stupid here, but when you purchase a magic weapon for a hero/lord would this count as an additional hand weapon since they already start with a weapon? Therefore you would get 2 extra attacks if you have the chaos runesword.
no because you cant use a mundane weapon if you have a magic weapon. read the BRB.
2010 WoC Cav W/L/D - 7/3/1
Exactly the chaos champion replaces their mundane (if anything can be called mundane in the chaos wastes that is) with the killy magic weapon throwing the old weapon to the dirt in disgust that they ever had to use such a thing when there was so much better stuff out there.
Basically life sucks, there is only war and you're probably gonna get eaten by Tyranids, have fun.
Actually, he doesn't replace the handweapon (although he would replace any other type of weapon, and cannot -IRC- be given another mundane weapon as an upgrade). You will always have a hand-weapon, because it represents you fighting with literally anything, be it a sword, dagger, a rock, or even your bare hands.
However, Ayliffe is correct- you cannot use a handweapon and a magical weapon at the same time. You use either/or.
We can only hope in the 8th edition that this rule changes, so that my characters on foot can get a parry bonus in situations where their magic weapons would be of little use.