Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
It's on the GW website now. http://www.games-workshop.com/MEDIA_...Chaos_2010.pdf
There's not much of a change to be honest. Seems Trolls have lost "Will of Chaos"
I Guess nobody will be giving Sorcerers the Book of Secrets anymore. As, what ever they were before, it now makes them a Level 1 Wizard. It does actually say the user 'becomes' a Level 1 Wizard now though. So you'll get +1 Dispe which is nice for cheapo magic protectionl. Also, Shadow magic is seriously nasty now. It may be worth the risk just putting it on a Level 1 Sorcerer/Cheap Exalted just to get access to the Lore.
Some things it thought was interresting and was glad for clarification, even if it's few news.
Warshrines lost THUNDERSTOMP. That sucks.
Page 66 – Hellcannon, Thzzzz
Change the second sentence to “All Wizards must roll on the
Miscast table. Ignore instructions on the table to lose dice
from the dice pool. On a roll of 10-12 the Wizard loses D3
Page 8 – The Lore of Tzeentch – Pandaemonium
Change the last sentence to “Futhermore, all enemy Wizards
must roll on the Miscast table on any roll of a double (but will
only cast a spell with irresistible force on a roll of double 6).”
Page 112 – Common Magic Items
Note that if a magic item is listed in both an army book and the
Warhammer rulebook, use the points value given in the army
book, with the rule printed in the Warhammer rulebook.
Page 115 – Book of Secrets, second paragraph
Change to “Treat the bearer as a Level 1 Wizard, who may use
the Lore of Fire, Lore of Shadow or Lore of Death. He may
not attempt to channel. If he ever casts a spell with irresistible
force he must roll D6+1 rather than 2D6 on the Miscast
Q. Is the ‘Eye is Closed’ (nothing happens) considered a gift, therefore
you re-roll it if you get it for the second time? (p43)
Q. Models that were defined as Daemonic in the past and therefore
had magical attacks, such as Daemon Princes, Hellcannons, Chaos
Mounts (Juggernauts, Discs etc.), no longer have magical attacks. Is
this right? (p53)
Q. When a Warshrine is in play, do friendly Warriors of Chaos unit
champions earn a roll on the Eye of the Gods chart if they kill an
enemy character or large target? (p5
Q. Can the Hellcannon move and fire? (p66)
Q. Can the Hellcannon Stand and Shoot against chargers? (p66)
Q. If all of the Chaos Dwarfs crewing the Hellcannon are killed,
can the Hellcannon still shoot? (p66)
Q. If a Hellcannon misfires and causes all Wizards to suffer a
miscast, in what order are the miscasts resolved? (p66)
A. The player whose turn is taking place decides.
Q. What happens when Call to Glory is dispelled/ends after it has
been cast? (p10
A. The model disappears. This does not count as killing the
Exalted Hero and does not award the extra 100 victory points.
Q. If the Favour of the Gods enchanted item is given to the champion
of a unit of Chosen, can the unit benefit from it when it makes its roll
in the Eye of the Gods table before the game? And when it makes a
roll thanks to a Chaos Warshrine? (p115)
Last edited by Mr_Wayne; July 9th, 2010 at 13:22.
"The more choices you force the opponent to make, the better the chance for you to capitalize on his mistakes"
Funny, I thought it meant for the purposes of that 1 spell they got from the Book of Secrets they were a lv1 wizard, meaning they only add +1 to the casting value.
Nurgle got changed back to -1 to hit from shooting, so tomb kings will hit us again on 5s, while WElfs lords will have harder time now.
What's the theory behind taking away rerollable panic checks from the trolls, that seems random and odd.
It just says "Treat the bearer as a Level 1 Wizard". So if you are a Level 2 and you have that Item it lowers you to a Level 1. They've also got rid of the +1 Power Dice from the book as well.
I'm warming to this book though. Give this to an Exalted of Tzeentch and he's getting +2 to cast. The Lord of Shadow Basic spell is nasty and easily cast on a Dice roll of 3+. So no Misccast for him.
Another thing, as he is now treated as a Level 1 Wizard. Can he take Arcane Items? A Spell Fmailiar would be funny?
No Idea about Trolls. Maybe they figured Trolls were far to stupid to have the will of Chaos.
The thing that made me laugh was that the Hell cannon now needs a Monster reaction test. so it can missfire, eat its own crew and then.....Guard their corpses? silliness.
Dammit, ninja'd! Or should that be Raider'd? Ah whatever!
First game of 8th Ed today, 1500pts vs Lizardmen, he took Engine of the Gods AND a Slann Mage-Priest, I took a level 2 sorcerer of Nurgle. So yeah, a bit magically lop-sided. The awesome thing comes next though:
I'd given my Sorcerer the 3rd Eye of Tzeentch, and he'd put his Mage Priest within 12", so I decided to look angrily his way and count as knowing every spell the Slann did, which happened to be the ENTIRE LORE OF LIGHT. So my Nurgle Sorcerer then promptly cast Banishment on his Slann, I rolled so high (but didn't roll any double 6s) that he couldn't dispel it with 6d6+4, so it went off, 8 strength 5 hits, Slann has to re-roll successful ward saves = Dead Slann. A 375pt Slann killed by a 200pt Sorcerer of Nurgle, who wasn't even using his own Lore. Awww, yeah.
PS: Rot, Glorious Rot going off on a 10+ is awesome btw.
+++XENOS SPOTTED+++ thrilling battles within the Vitorina subsector: http://xenosspotted.blogspot.com/
Aye our Magic is seriously easy to cast nowadays. Even Gateway is pretty easy.
Something I've just read. Something I'm a bit perplexed about. If a corpse cart gets thunderstomp why doesn't our Warshrine!!!!!!
If I'm understanding the FAQ, it sounds like the Hellcannon now doesn't suffer any negative effects from eating its own crew. It can still fire, fight, and from what I can tell, do everything it did when it had a crew. I guess they were just leading it to the battlefield.
"Any job worth doing, is worth doing with a powerklaw."
Hellcannons always could shoot without a crew, what happens now is if it fails its reaction test and holds ground it would have to rampage every turn it fails its test, so you can always hope to fail and then guard the corpses you just ate, leaving you able to shoot at will without worry of rampaging.