Welcome to Librarium Online!
If you have Favor of the gods on an exalted hero, and that hero is deployed in a unit of chosen, will they unit of chosen be able to use it for their the eye of the gods roll at the start of the game, or does the item have to be on the unit champion to do that?
I've always played that it works, never even thought it wouldn't work.
My book is sitting in my car somewhere so I am not going to look, but check the wording on the chosen section. If it says the chosen get to roll on the table then the exalted would not get to modify it nor would he get the benefit of it. Much in the same way if a favor of the gods exalted were to join a group of trolls and they got the eotg roll from regening wounds he would not get the modify or benefits.
Favour of the Gods can only be used to modify a warshrine's blessing if it is equipped on a member of that unit; i.e. the champion. Chosen are currently our only champion choice that can take magical items.
I could see in the 7th edition FAQ where there was a gray area on whether or not a character with the Favour could modify the blessing of a unit he was currently mated to, but the new 8th FAQ clearly indicates that the blessing is for the unit only, and a character can benefit only while joined to the unit. My vote would be for no, a character with the item cannot modify anyone's blessings but his own (differently from ones that affect him.)
Naw, he joins the unit, means he joins the unit. But I never play anyway but my chosen champion having the item. Any other way is always a warshrine throwing it on a knight unit with an exalted having the item.
The reason I bring it up is as you mention Pinkus. I just thought that it would be great if not only could that hero allow for the re-roll on the warshrine's blessing in the knight unit... what if I deployed the hero with the chosen so that they could re-roll their start of game roll, and then in my first turn have the hero join my knight unit in the movement phase right before the warshrine blessing and allow for the re-roll their too.
I understood from the FAQ that once he left the chosen he would not have their blessing, but also thought that because he was a part of the unit at the beginning of the game they would get to reroll their EOG roll and would benefit from it as long as he was in the chosen unit.
Can the knight unit still benefit from the re-roll from the warshrine blessing, or is it only the unit not the hero in which case they would not re-roll either?
The item doesn't grant a reroll, but it grants a +-1 to the roll. The chosen's special rule states characters don't benefit from their roll, but heroes probably can't help their roll, but a character would be able to help any warshrine roll.
I'd say no, it has to be on the Champion for you to alter the Chosen's roll. The last sentence of "Chosen of the gods" reads........ Note that characters joining the unit do not benefit from this special rule
I think that means that, as the rule doesn't affect him directly, any items he carries mean nothing for the Chosen's roll. Otherwise your character could cause terror and force a re-roll as well etc etc.