Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
So a few of us in my local group are debating the rules for Discs of Tzeentch. The BRB bestiary lists them as War Beasts. The Troop Type entry says that a ridden War Beast follows the rules for cavalry.
My point is that a War Beast is still a War Beast, even if it's ridden and following the rules for cavalry. The other people are stating that, no, it's now a cavalry troop type, meaning that a Disc of Tzeentch can't claim a proximity Look Out Sir! roll from Warhounds.
I pointed out that Monstrous Cavalry also follow the rules for cavalry, according to their Troop Type entry, but they're still Monstrous Cavalry.I also pointed out that using (borrowing) a rule set for cavalry doesn't change the war beast's troop type; it just defines how to use that model for gaming purposes.
Also, why call a disc a War Beast at all (or a Steed of Slaanesh for that matter) if as soon as the rider hops on, it magically transforms into cavalry? Wouldn't these mounts have been listed as cavalry from the start if they were intended to be cavalry?
What do you people think?
If you're really board, you can read the thread here:
Metroplex Wargamers - 8th Ed Woc Lists
I'm really surprised they didn't answer this in the BRB FAQ that came out today. I'm not sure why they had to make it so complicated.
According to the character mounts section it should gain the troop types Calvary, Character, and nothing else. According to its base size it should probably be Monstrous Calvary.
For reference, Steed of Slaanesh demon rider thingies are now classified as Calvary (and nothing else), so my group will probably end up going with that.
Does anyone have the rule book in front of them? I would love to see how GW classified Chaos Steed. I bet it is a warbeast. None of us would try to claim a LOS roll from hounds because we have a character on a Chaos Steed, would we? Cavalry is just infantry riding warbeasts. Monstrous calavry is infantry riding monsters. My vote falls squarely in the "Disc riders are of unit type cavalry" camp.
Chaos Steed isn't in the reference section (not by itself).
I think the argument I've heard (I haven't actually checked on this), is that the look out sir isn't under the cavalry section, but the unit type section, or maybe its by itself. Either way if you follow the rules for cavalry, then this doesn't imply anything towards look out sir, since cavalry rules don't give reference to it.
People keep saying that, but miss the part of Characters and Mounts that says he actually gains the troop type calvary (as opposed to the other badly worded part that just says "uses the rules for calvary" or something).
And all references to LOS (for characters) specifically say "of the same troop type".
Does it say characters gain the troop type?
Ya. "Whole model is treated as having the troop type calvary"
Yes. So if i get this straight, Jugger or Disc in a unit of Knights is LOS 2+ right?
P.S. -1+ Armour save is back!!
Jugger's Monstrous Calvary (different troop type).