Welcome to Librarium Online!
I was playing with a friend and he pointed out that the parry rule does not specifically mention that it only applies to infantry any more? His cold one knights were getting the 6+ parry save in close combat because lances are not used unless charging. IS this true?
I did not see it mention in the rules that the parry save only applied to infantry anymore. If it is there please let me know.
Otherwise, I am thinking that tzeentch maurader horsemen with shields can get a 5+ ward save with spears in close combat, as spears are dropped after the charge and they would be using handweapon and shield benefiting from the parry rule.
Also, a mounted tzeench caster with a charmed shield and the 4+ wardsave item would go all the way to 2+ Ward save in close combat because of the parry bonus.
4+ talisman, +1 from tzeentch, +1 from parry bonus (handweapon and shield) Gotta get my caster lord into combat where he is safe. Pop off a miscast or two, shrug off its effects, before doing battle in the challenge with whomever is left. 2+ wardsave aught to keep me around long enough to do it all again if anyone of them survives.
This is sounding cool. I hope it is true!
A) An excerpt from the new rulebook, pg88: "As a final caveat, the parry save cannot be claimed by Frenzied warriors - they're far too bonkers to think overmuch about their own personal safety - nor can it be used by mounted models." That one pretty much speaks for itself.
B ) An excerpt from the new rulebook, pg502: "A magic shield is treated as a normal shield, but cannot be used alongside a hand weapon to gain a parry save." Since we cannot give our sorcs a basic shield (they simply have the capability of taking magic armor, unlike other mages, which may include a magic shield), they can never gain a parry save, since that would require a basic hand weapon and basic shield.
Fear me, mortals, for I am The Anointed, The Favored Son of Chaos, The Scourge of the World. The armies of the Gods rally behind me, and it is by My Will and by My Sword that your weakling nations shall fall. - Archaon, The Everchosen, Lord of the End Times
...and parry grants a 6+ ward save, it does not give you +1 ward save. MoT can stack with a parry save, but it does not stack with other wards. This means that an exalted hero using the 4+ talisman with the MoT and using a mundane HW/S combo gains no benefit from the parry save as it does not stack with the 4+ ward talisman.
Thanks for the responses.
I don't think I'm in the minority when I say that I have a heck of a time interpreting this new ward save stuff; some ward saves stack, some don't and you can't stack multiple save types (i.e., ward and regen) but you can stack an armor and ward save?.... ugh.....
You always get an armour save, and then either a wardsave or regeneration. This is to avoid the 'I've got 3 saves' stuff.
Wardsaves do not stack unless the item or rule explicitly says so. Parry is a 6+ ward that does not stack... because it's a wardsave...and those don't stack..
The MoTzeentch is an anomoly in this as it is the one ( or only one ) thing that stacks with all other wardsaves.
So Tyrion is about as survivable as a Jugger Lord with Talisman of Preservation.
What weapons does he have and what does he cost?
Last edited by Mr_Wayne; July 28th, 2010 at 19:43.
"The more choices you force the opponent to make, the better the chance for you to capitalize on his mistakes"