Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
My group seem to have some questions about the Hellcannon that we find hard to answer.
- "...It follows the rules of a Monster and Handlers (see the Warhammer rulebook), with tree Chaos Dwarfs as its handlers. When determining which models are hit by shooting attacks, the Hellcannon is hit on a 1-4 and the Chaos Dwarfs on a 5-6."
Fine, but the the FAQ say this:
- Page 66 – Hellcannon, paragraph before profile
Ignore the last sentence. Add “Note that if the Chaos Dwarf
crew are destroyed for any reason, including being eaten by
their Hellcannon, the Hellcannon will need to take a Monster
So, In the rulebook it says that wounding the Beast on 1-4 while the handlers are wounded on 5-6. But that line in the codex is ignored by the FAQ.
I think that the rule still apply (1-4 on the monster, 5-6 on the crew) Why else would is say "...Note that if the Chaos Dwarf crew are destroyed for any reason, including being eaten by
If the 1-4 / 5-6 rule is gone what other way is there to kill the crew than for the monster to eat them? It makes no sense, so I believe it is possible to kill the crew with 5-6 on the dice. Is this right?
Another quick question. I read several places that the Hellcannon going into rampage went after the closest enemy unit. But if the handlers are killed it will go after any unit. I cant find these rules, so can anyone point me at them and possible quote them form me?
As far as i know the 1-4/5-6 rules for shooting still applies.
As for the Hellcannon going rampage on your own units, they do not do that any more.
They did that when they were initialy introduced, but were changed alot when the newest Chaos codec was released.
Yes, roll to wound against the cannon's toughness, then distribute the wound to either the cannon or the handlers. Then use the appropriate armor save.
So does anyone know if a character can join a hellcannon crew?
Since the whole Hellcannon unit is clasified as a monster, no.
Characters cannot join a unit of monsters.
Why would you join the crew? What happens if the monster get a misfire result 1 or 2. Either remove everyone or it eats it's crew. And is someone did join the unit it is counted as part of the crew right?
I always play that you roll to wound on the cannons toughness, then do the armour save. Any failed saves then get randomized 1-4 cannon, 5-6 crew.
Well actualy i think ur supose to use the do the randomized roll BEFORE the armor save. And then use the crew/cannons respective armor save.