Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Quick question - why does the mini for the chaos lord on juggernaut have a shield?
His chaos armour gives him a 4+ and the jugger adds +3 bonus so that's 1+, the shield would add +1 but the save cannot go below 1+ (ie str3 / str4 will still fail on a 1 only, whereas str 5 fails on 1 or 2)
It it a throwback from previous edition or an oversight on the mini? I was just wondering as I'm planning a conversion with a 2-handed weapon (who in 8th now gets +2 str right ?) although it might just be a cool looking magic item..
Hi Sotek's Prophet,
I don't know the real answer but I'd hazard a guess? There used to be magic shields that had effects besides just adding armor saves. Perhaps the shield is there to give the player the option of buying one of those?
--- Be well, be blessed!
Also keep in mind that the model is a lot older than 8th edition. In 7th edition there wasn't a cap at 1+. You could go below 1+ because of strength/save modifiers.
The saving throw roll cannot be better than 1+, because 0+ is impossible to roll. Read the warhammer rule book FAQ for more details.
Items can make it lower than 1+ but it cannot "be" better than 1+.
So if you have an effective 0+ save against S3, it becomes 1+ If you get attacked by S4, it's 1+. If you get attaced by S5 it's 2+.
So what it can still be 0+ and thus 2+ vs str 5 as I thought the rules meant that no matter what 1+ is the maximum?
Awesome! So just to clarify for definite: assuming chaos armour, jugger and say enchanted shield that's a -1 save so I'd save on 2+ vs anything upto str 6?
If so that could be really useful in current edition!
Having an army and not owning a rulebook is like owning a car with no steering wheel.Originally Posted by amishcellphone
I'm with Rork on this one. There is no point them saying your armour save cannot be 'better' then 1+ if you're allowed to go to a 0+ but against strength 3 it would still count as 1+......... if you roll a 1 on your armour save you fail anyway, so there is no such thing as a 1+ save. So them saying it can't be better then 1+ suggests its capped. But hey, you could try it, but you would just be headed for an arguement which in all likelyhood you would lose. Even if you did win and your opponent let you have it, he would probably think you're a dodgy f**k and wont want to play you again.