Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
It looks from the book that Wulfrik serves all of the Gods, but if you put a mark on his Marauder unit, doesn't Wulfrik get the mark, too? It would seem that characters, heros, etc. have to have their own mark, even when the unit is marked, but I did not know about Wulfrik.
I'm pretty sure he doesn't get the direct benefits of the mark, but he would still get the indirect benefits. For example, enemies he fights will have -1 WS if the marauder unit has Mark of Nurgle. But he will not get a ward save bonus if the unit has mark of tzeentch. I think he'll be immune to panic, fear and terror if the unit has mark of slaanesh as well. At least until he leaves the unit or they are killed. Mark of Khorne will not give him the extra attack either. Someone else could surely point you to the correct page in the rulebook, I'm still getting used to it.
Warhammer Fantasy: Warriors of Chaos, High Elves
Warhammer 40k: Eldar, Space Marines, Orks
As I understand it, the unit has the mark. So all parts of the unit are affected by it.
As long as Wulfrik is in the unit (and therefore part of it), he would get a 6+ ward, or immune to panic etc. This works in much the same way spells that targeting the unit would.
He would lose any benefits if he left the unit of course.
I would think if that was the case the WoC book would say somewhere that marks on units do not affect characters within the units, or something like that...
If the model doesn't have the Mark he doesn't get benefit. If you put an 'undivided' character in a unit of Khorne warriors he is still an undivided character and does not get the Blessings of Khorne.
For example, in the Khorne entry it says "A Model with with Mark of Khorne is subject to Frenzy". It doesn't say 'unit' it says 'model'. If the mark affected the unit and everyone in said unit it would say so like the Banner of Rage for example. As it doesn't it won't confer the benefit to the character 'for free'
If a warrior of Khorne joins a regiment of Nurgle, that particular warrior will have Frenzy, but will not have the -1 to hit. The unit around him will not have Frenzy though.
The only time it helps, is whenever you are shooting at a regiment marked Nurgle, with a differently marked character. Unless you can target the character specifically (Sniper rule) you are at a -1 to hit the entire regiment.
A character who is not immune to Fear, will have to take a Fear test if charged by Fear causing enemies. Not sure if he flees when charged by Terror causers though. I think that he still has to test for the WS1 effect though.
Page 110 in the WoC book:
Under Mark of Chaos, last sentence of second paragraph::
A model may not have more than one mark.
That answers some of the points in this thread. A hero marked one way does not enjoy the benefits of a unit marked another way, nor vice versa.
Also, zannal pointed out that the language on page 110 uses the word "model" pretty much exclusively.
But looking at the WoC bestiary, Wulfrik lacks any mark, unlike for example Festus who sports the Mark of Nurgle.
Taking zannal's observation into consideration, I don't think Wulfrik gains any benefits from the unit's mark, though it's still to his advantage to be in a unit marked Marauders. Slaanesh would be good so that they don't do something stupid at the worst moment, and Khorne Marauders might buzz through something.
Anyhow, I think it's pretty clearly a no. Borak and Captain S pretty much said it. Wulfrik is old-school Undivided and won't favor one god over another, so he gets the benefits of none.
Too bad, although still a little unclear from the book on page 110 of the WoC book, since you can place a mark on a unit itself. However, under closer pouring over the book, Wulfrik does not have any of the marks listed under his point profile. I guess that could mean he can benefit from a unit mark, just like any other member of the unit, or he can't have any mark.
I surely think that is a good FAQ Errata for GW. Oh well, Rep for everyone for their input!!!
I still think that since it says "model" and never "unit," it's on a model-by-model basis, so he gains no benefit from the unit's mark. The only time you see "unit" is in the bestiary, and there, you're paying X points to mark each model in that unit, meaning each marauder or warrior or whatever model, not anyone who happens to jump in.