Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Was reading through the new rulebook magic armour and saw that the Charmed Shield costs only 5 points, while putting a normal shield on your Chaos Lord would cost 10.
So i was wondering if the 'one use only' in the shield rules applies only to the magical effect of the shield, or if the shield 'as a whole' ceases to exist after its magical effect took place.
I'm aware that you don't have a parry save with a magic shield, but since i plan on taking another item for a ward save anyway that does not really matter.
It does count as a normal shield as well, even after the effect is used up. Keep in mind that you're paying those 5 pts from your magic item allowance and that you give up the ability to use other magic armor compared to if you buy a normal shield.
Warhammer Fantasy: Warriors of Chaos, High Elves
Warhammer 40k: Eldar, Space Marines, Orks
I always take this shield for my General because I play against shooting armies like Dwarves, High Elves, Empire. Getting hit by a cannon on round 1 and having your general take 5 wounds is not a pretty picture. With this shield you stand a fighting chance.
5000 pts of WoC, 5000 pts of Orcs and now 3000 pts of Ogres...What was I thinking ????
Isn't there more point in taking the Crimson Armour of Dargan? I mean sure it's 40 points, but you only ever recieve one wound from multiple wounding objects and immune to killing blow, take Mark of Tzeentch with the Talismon of Preservation and then your pretty much sorted.
I take it my Disc Sorcerer Lord as it is a magical shield. I'm pretty sure it is still magical and he would not loose the +1 to his armor once he gets hit.
If a Million Guardsmen die, that's a statistic. If one marine dies, that's a tragedy.
It good on flying lords to protect them for that 1 round of shooting they face before charging.
Its better served in your army on wizard though. They generally don't take magic armor, so you're skipping out on anything else. You ignore your first str 10 miscast hit and put this guy on a steed and he gets a 1+ armor save. All for little points.
US Master's Midwest Advisor.
Come join me at my GT this September www.brewfestgt.com